We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks nice, service was average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Stayed overnight for a wedding. The Hotel itself is very nice. Staff is average but nothing special. They did not go out of their way to help us or provide simple directions. Beds are comfortable. Although we could have used some more pillows and towels. Towels weren't plush reminded me of something we'd find at motel 6. I've slept better at an Embassy suite than here.

Location is very good although they do not provide parking. Expect to pay around $15.00 dollars for self parking at the garage if staying overnight. Might as well get the Valet service for the $20.00.

Food here was mediocre at best not what you would expect for a hotel claiming five star service.

We would only stay here for the convenience of location as it's in the heart of town.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventure30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 746 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at the Heldrich. The hotel was clean, the staff pleasant, good health club/pool and great breakfast. They also handled the 48 hour power cut brilliantly! The rooms were lovely and comfortable and the hallways and rooms clean and spacious. The public areas were pleasant and welcoming.

There are only a couple of minor downsides to the hotel. Firstly, they claimed that if you hang the towels up they were replaced (this is a myth, they are). So much for the environmental policy. Also, the housekeeping staff were rude. I was having a shower and the guy banged on the door every two minutes which was not relaxing. It was also possible to hear the conversation of people in the bathroom in the next room.

Finally, New Brunswick is nice enough but you wouldn't find much to do there after a couple of days.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

This is a very nice hotel. The bed is comfortable, the restaurants/ lounge very trendy and the staff was friendly. However we had to request for a microwave oven and a refrigerator which I think was an additional charge to the room per day. A part from that, would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank optrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

The Heldrich is a beautiful hotel...the room was well-appointed and the bathroom was very nice, too. The bed looked inviting until I got in it. The linens were crisp, but not in a good way...kind of like the thread count was off and they were doused with fabric sizing. My co-workers staying in the hotel had similar comments. It is a minor issue and can be easily remedied...it's a shame to have such a lovely hotel and then such unpleasant bedding.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
Thank mrsparker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

For starters the hotel was clean and the food was very good! I never had a problem at the hotel yes there is homeless people in the area but where are these people not in an area staff dealt with them very good!
I guess one thing to note that your not allowed to bring food or drinks into the hotel so be perpared to hide it or eat out!

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rps291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Hotel is in the center of New Brunswick close to nice restaurant and nightlife. Got married @ the hotel and the staff was nice & pleasant. Would stay here anytime we are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funladez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

I got here in pretty good time from JFK by train via Penn Station.
I was invited to a wedding in New Brunswick and the rooms were block blooked up to a sell-by-date.$109/night.Not bad.But the booking stipulated a luxury king--what I got was a standard king...oh well
Booking in was a breeze.Everybody was very polite.
It's not the 5 star wonderland they would have you believe from the website.But it's not bad.
The hotel bar is very well stocked and the staff are pretty.I tried Sierra Nevada pale ale for the first time and it's very nice/strong.It's a pity that when I asked for my customary breakfast beer that I was refused....The bar opens at 16.30 and closes at 00.30==just to let you know..
The Heldrich is a functional compression of american politeness.And as someone who worked as a barman for 10 years I was happy to give a tip to the nice people who work in the Heldrich.The service was sincere and relaxed.
Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pathogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brunswick
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
#1 of 4 in New Brunswick
920 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton East Brunswick Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn North Brunswick/New Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rutgers University Inn and Conference Center
4.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Piscataway - Somerset
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Pis...
#1 of 5 in South Plainfield
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 10 Livingston Ave, New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > New Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Price Range: $119 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heldrich Hotel - where ordinary is obsolete. Located in the heart of New Brunswick, New Jersey, a place where elegance, opulence and ambiance go hand-in-hand with innovation. Where meetings are engineered for results, and your leisure experience is sure to be unforgettable. Located within a few steps of the cultural hub of the city, and a short walk to public transportation and Rutgers University, meet me at The Heldrich! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick
Heldrich New Brunswick
Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing