We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

It was a nice stay, in a comfy room, and, if I recall well, we got the extra bedsheets we asked for for our king bed. Clean room, nice concierge, great breakfast (complimentary), really no complaints. There might have been small things here and there, but it seems they are minor since I can't recall them.

If you are going for a conference, book early, or the conference rate won't last and you will have to pay full price.

The only thing we might want to try next time, should we ever stay here, is to get a room facing the city, not the back of the hotel like this time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mira_que_Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry S, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We appreciate your nice comments about your king size bed accommodations, the service of our concierge desk and the complimentary breakfast included with your conference package. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    215
    113
    37
    27
See reviews for
132
145
50
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

My friends and I got a one bedroom suite on the 4th floor. Everything seemed solid until they opened the pull out couch to find DRY VOMIT on the inside of the couch. It was very disappointing to see such a disgusting stain in an expensive room for such a special occasion.

To add insult to injury, the people in our party that were supposed to sleep on the couch had to sleep on the floor on an air mattress because The Heldrich ran out of cots.

And it gets worse. After all that, they only offered $50 for the inconvenience. How insulting! $50 bucks!

To the management of the Heldrich: I must say that I am DEEPLY DISAPPOINTED in the subpar cleanliness of the hotel and even more so with how our case was handled.

To all current and future guests at the Heldrich: Beware. You're room is probably filthy.

To everyone: Brunswick has better hotels.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ivlexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Heldrich. I apologize for your room not being up to yours and our standard. My Housekeeping team is looking into the situation you mentioned and correct any issues they find in our suites. I apologize for the way your situation was handled and will speak to my team on how to handle these type of situations. I do truly hope you give us another try so we can show you the service that you deserve. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Hotel is in a great location in New Brunswick-15 minute walk from the train station-close to restaurants and bars including Makeda, the Ethiopian restaurant and Hotoke which has a great happy hour. Front desk staff was very helpful. The room was clean and a great size. I had their all inclusive buffet which I felt was over priced and not too exciting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anouska c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry S, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We appreciate your kind comments about our convenient location near great bars, restaurants and the train station. We are also happy you enjoyed the hospitality of our Front Desk team and the spacious accommodations. Your comments about the buffet were passed on to our Food & Beverage team so we can do better next time. We look forward to having the pleasure of accommodating you again in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

The hotel was quiet, clean and nice. The front desk personnel was friendly and responded to my demands with enthusiasm. There are good restaurents around the hotel, including an Ethiopian restaurent where we went for dinner. For people like us who are travelling from South (from North Carolina) to NYC, this hotel is ideal because one night at the Heldrich costs half the price of that of any comparable hotels in NYC and its location is less than 1 hour from the Big Apple. Only one small disappointment for us: the pool was not available at the Heldrich but we could walk to another hotel to use their pool; we were told this will be fixed soon. In the morning, I have been able to run in the streets around and in a park not far from the hotel. I recommend the Heldrich.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry S, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
We appreciate your kind comments about our facilities, the friendliness of the Front Desk team, the convenient location close to NYC, proximity to so many great restaurants within walking distance and also the great value our hotel represents to the traveler. We hope to have the distinct pleasure of accommodating you at the Heldrich again in the near future. We promise the pool will be open next time. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

My recent wedding was held at the Heldrich and everything from the planning to the morning-after breakfast was perfect. Our Heldrich event planner, Andrew, was patient, professional, and generously gave his time and expertise to make the event a huge success (he even served as a witness for the marriage license). Our many overnight guests raved about the accommodations and about how helpful and friendly the staff were. I have always like the design of Christopher's restaurant but was pleasantly surprised at how well it worked for the ceremony and reception; the contemporary decor was a great backdrop for photos, the acoustics are great, and the space had a cool ambiance (ohm the food was declared excellent, too!). The management and staff made everything seamless and smooth - I didn't have one moment of concern or worry so was able to really enjoy the whole event. If you are in search of a beautiful wedding venue, I recommend the Heldrich without reservations.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29Teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry S, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
We appreciate your kind review on Trip Advisor regarding how much you had enjoyed attending the recent wedding reception held at the Heldrich and how Andrew and his team made your experience so wonderful. We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

The rates are good on their websites. The breakfast was good if you get it with the package its worth it. The hotel is new, the bathrooms are clean. The rooms a little small. The place is right in the middle of Rutgers town so the night life is good. Everything is close by. I am a muslim and there are nice halal places to eat close by. Was a very good place overall...

Room Tip: We got good rates from the hotel website, better than any other website
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolt248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry S, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
We appreciate your kind comments on Trip Advisor regarding the cleanliness of our property, the nice breakfast, our convenient location in the center of it all and also the good value our overnight packages represent. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Recently stayed there for a wedding - the hotel staff was so delightful and accommodating - you couldn't ask for more. They were even willing to charge a fellow guest's phone at the front desk. The rooms were lovely. The food was great and it was the perfect spot for a wedding. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry S, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality, food preparation and facilities so much during your recent stay when attending a wedding. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brunswick
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
#1 of 4 in New Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton East Brunswick Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
0.9 mi away
Rutgers University Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn North Brunswick/New Brunswick
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center
#1 of 7 in East Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites North Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center

Property: The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 10 Livingston Ave, New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1904
Location: United States > New Jersey > New Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heldrich Hotel - where ordinary is obsolete. Located in the heart of New Brunswick, New Jersey, a place where elegance, opulence and ambiance go hand-in-hand with innovation. Where meetings are engineered for results, and your leisure experience is sure to be unforgettable. Located within a few steps of the cultural hub of the city, and a short walk to public transportation and Rutgers University, meet me at The Heldrich! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick
Heldrich New Brunswick
Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing