We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing mini getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Robbinsville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing mini getaway!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

New Brunswick isn't far from me, but my boyfriend and I spent the weekend here so we could get away for a little.... We loved it! Friendly staff and amazing spa! The room was modern and clean. We didn't get a chance to eat at Christopher's... Maybe next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Molly, we appreciate you taking the time to review the Heldrich Hotel on Trip Advisor. Your kind comments about our accommodations are also very much appreciated. Christopher's Restaurant and Bar offers fine dining at a reasonable prize and we hope you will have the opportunity to sample some of our culinary delights on your next visit. Thank you and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    226
    120
    41
    28
See reviews for
144
149
52
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed at the Heldrich for 2 nights in November during a conference. The room was quiet, very comfortable, spacious and elegantly appointed. The bed was large and luxurious. I had room service twice: it was prompt and the food was delicious. The staff on front desk were pleasant and helpful. The bar was great. The breakfast was superb. I had some time before my flight, which I spent in the spa. I had an excellent massage and felt really pampered. My only slight criticism was the dinner which I had in the restaurant -- only mediocre. I would recommend this fine hotel to anyone who travels to New Brunswick.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gothicwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, breakfast, bar and spa. I will pass on your comments to the staff as I am sure they will be happy to hear about your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We found the front desk, valet and bellmen to be really helpful and personable. Great drinks in the bar, excellent location with lots within walking distance. We got a ride in the shuttle to the train and easily zipped into NYC.
The downsides were minor or not really the fault of the hotel. I wasnt impressed by some elements of the room.. the ceiling in the shower was patched and crappy looking. The edge of the bed had a stain on the box spring- just cosmetics though. Beds were comfy. There were screaming children running up and down the hallways. No place to separate recyclables either.
I would stay again for the service and value.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bornatravlingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear about the Front Office Staff and Valet. We do strive to be the best we can. I also would like to thank you for your comments about the items that need some attention. I will pass along to my staff so we can focus on those areas. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This property was a lovely surprise. Staff was gracious and accommodating, the rooms clean and a good size, free wifi and pretty décor. Within walking distance of the State Theater, NJ Transit (although they provide a shuttle) and Queens Campus area of Rutgers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jas9411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Heldrich. We are glad to hear that everything was up to your standards. Next time you are in town please stop by Christopher’s Restaurant and Bar, as they have a great selection of items from the menu which I am sure you would enjoy. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Attended a conference at Rutgers and the Heldrich was recommended for overnight it exceeded our expectations. Attractive decor, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. I appreciate the free wifi. Too many hotels charge needlessly for it. Breakfast also was quite good for a hotel buffet.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeBee386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
I would like to Thank You for your review of The Heldrich. I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations. I am going to pass along your comments to the staff as I know they would appreciate it. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A friend had a wedding here and I also stayed at the hotel.
The service was great. Everything that I asked for was delivered to my room. Ryan at the front desk was also very kind in charging my cell phone at the front desk while I was at the wedding reception.

The bed was very comfortable. I didn't like the bathroom amenities they provided to guests, however; the quality wasn't there. Wasn't a deal breaker, but I do travel a lot, and for me, a hotel that provides high-quality little things like shampoo and bar soap speaks volumes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay. I am happy that Ryan was able to assist you. I appreciate your comments about the amenities and will look into it. We do hope that when you return to New Brunswick you make The Heldrich your hotel of choice. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed at the Heldrich this past week for a business trip; the conference was held at a nearby hotel. In looking for an alternate location to attend this conference, the ability to easily walk to the conference, as well as local food options, was the most important to me. After investigating on TripAdvisor, both reviews and maps, the Heldrich fit the bill.

The hospitality was superb, starting with pulling in to the front door (valet is a separate company, but very easy to navigate and only slightly more than self-park - plus valet provides in and out privileges and self-park did not). The hotel is located on Congress Square, a cute, very small park. Check in was easy and so was finding the room.

The room itself was spacious with thoughtful touches - coffee bar, two closets, luggage rack, desk, ample outlets, all important for a business trip. The bed was extremely comfortable and the black out curtains did their job. My view was of the rooftop, but also a spectacular sunset each evening. I did not request a hotel facing downtown, so did not expect it. A few things kept this hotel from being a five star experience - the television was a tube, not flatscreen, and its location within a wardrobe made it hard to watch from all angles (I had to be in bed or the armchair - I could not see it from the desk). Additionally, the hotel door latch (the one that allows you to open the door slightly but remain safe) was falling apart from the door - it is supposed to be secured by three screws but one was missing and the other two were loose. I felt plenty secure with the location and electronic and deadbolt - this was not the issue - but was concerned by their lack of upkeep here.

Finally, it is very easy to walk to many locations in downtown New Brunswick from the Heldrich. Lots of sit down and quick food options, a few drugstores, multiple banks, plus it looked like there was many cultural options as well. I felt safe as streets were well-traversed.

Overall, I would stay here again and appreciated the hospitality and overall aesthetics, as other reviews have noted. A few minor improvements (televisions, upkeep) would make this five-stars.

Room Tip: It is clear when you are booking (at least it was for me) whether you are reserving a room with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzymcboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to say we have new flat screen T.V’s in all guest rooms and have updated our Fitness Center as well. We are constantly doing preventive maintenance so we will look at all safety latches in the rooms and make appropriate repairs. We so hope to see you soon. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brunswick
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
#1 of 4 in New Brunswick
853 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton East Brunswick Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn North Brunswick/New Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rutgers University Inn and Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center New Brunswick
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Edison/Raritan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center

Property: The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 10 Livingston Ave, New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1904
Location: United States > New Jersey > New Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heldrich Hotel - where ordinary is obsolete. Located in the heart of New Brunswick, New Jersey, a place where elegance, opulence and ambiance go hand-in-hand with innovation. Where meetings are engineered for results, and your leisure experience is sure to be unforgettable. Located within a few steps of the cultural hub of the city, and a short walk to public transportation and Rutgers University, meet me at The Heldrich! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick
Heldrich New Brunswick
Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing