We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls Night Out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Girls Night Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

I recently hosted a sleepover Sweet Sixteen party for my daughter and a few friends. The suite and adjoining bedroom were perfect. The staff helpful and accomodating. As other reviewers have noted, this is a perfect location for the New Brunswick area -- theater; restaurants; Rutgers. The girls had a great time at the pool and the space was very large with a living room and dining area with a small kitchen and two bathrooms. I would highly recommend the Heldrich. The only opportunity for improvement is with the parking. If you don't plan on using your car, then the self-parking is most cost-effective.Otherwise, use the valet for one flat $25 fee with unlimited in and out. I ended up paying more for parking it myself. Otherwise, this is a great choice in hotels.

Room Tip: Corner suites on the higer floors are great with outstanding views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GladT0BeHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review of the Heldrich Hotel & Spa on your recent stay. I agree that our hotel has a wonderful location close to great Restaurants, Bars, Theatre's and the train station. I am so happy that you enjoyed the spacious suites and that it was accommodating for your daughters special occasion.

Unfortunately, the only parking options we have are the self parking lot or Valet. The parking deck for self parking is well lit and is located just behind the hotel. Recently we had Valet include unlimited in/out privileges at $25/night for our guest so that they may not be inconvenienced upon leaving and returning to the Heldrich

Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Heldrich in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    215
    113
    37
    27
See reviews for
132
145
50
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

If you're staying around the New Brunswick area for any reason (Rutgers game, State Theatre, hanging around the area...) don't miss the Heldrich hotel. Been there twice now, both times the staff was perfectly pleasant and helpful, the rooms were beautifully appointed (up there with any Hilton/Sheraton), and the size of the rooms was equally perfect for any stay. Didn't try the spa or the pool but both appear to be equally high-quality.

With all that, the price is perfect... would definitely stay there again. If you're a Rutgers student, faculty, or alumni, look for the Rutgers rate! Keep it up, Heldrich!

Room Tip: Corner room was extremely roomy, beautifully sunny, super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about the Heldrich Hotel & Spa this past weekend. The entire staff that worked over these dates were pleased to hear how satisfied you were with the accommodations and the services you received. I am so happy that you enjoyed the rooms and that you were able to utilize our Rutger’s discount.

Again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Heldrich in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byram, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

No on-site parking (and VERY POOR = 1 sign, from one direction only - signs to self parking - which is > 1 block off-Site, in a PUBLIC deck that does not make clear any affiliation with the hotel - nor are there signs for guests from the deck to a hotel entrance, nor is there a rear courtesy entrance). No: fridge, bottled waters, automated alarm clock service, iDock radio, PEN to write notes. Slow internet. Poor food and abysmal wine selection in restaurant - surprising given that the hotel used to have a self-standing wine bar, advertised coming back in 11/11. Competition in New Brunswick is within $15, and the competition had all/better of the above, even under renovation (stayed there the night before). I'm not even a fan of the competition - they put on some airs at times - but, get it together, Heldrich - if you want more than just the theater over-nighters.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay ay the Heldrich Hotel and Spa. Please accept our apologies for some of the issues you had during your recent visit.

I will be working with my Management Team on the issues you had while staying with us. We strive to make every guest experience a memorable one and I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, the only parking options we have are the self parking lot or Valet. The parking deck for self parking is well lit and is located just behind the hotel.

Daryl’s Wine Bar is not a part of our Hotel, but we are still very pleased that they will be opening back up this month.

Once again, please accept our apologies, and please call me personally if you would like to come back to the Heldrich in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were there for a wedding. Front desk and catering staff were very nice. On weekends you can park on the street after 4pm on Friday for free or they have a garage ($30 self-park and $50 valet which I thought was a tad pricey). Train station is a few blocks away for easy access to NYC. Rooms were fine. Some wallpaper was peeling (as noted in other reviews) but overall it was a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about the Heldrich Hotel & Spa this past weekend. The staff was happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of the hotel. In regards to the rooms I am working with my Housekeeping & Facility Team to ensure the wallpaper issue is being addressed.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Heldrich in the near future, and please call me personally if you would like to come back to the Heldrich in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH BRUNSWICK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stay at The Heldrich for an event we where having at the Cross Theater. The stay was great the staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. Ryan and Alex where a big help. The only problem I had was with valet parking. It was sleeting outside, they stop parking guest cars, We had to find our own parking and then walk back in the weather. I know the hotel don't control parking so fault to them.
Ms. Hawkis

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busdriver316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review of the Heldrich Hotel & Spa on your recent stay. I agree that our hotel has a wonderful location close to Theatre's.

Unfortunately, the only parking options we have are the self parking lot or Valet. On behalf of The Heldrich and Valet I do apologize for the inconvenience of parking but during bad weather. I am working with the Valet company on procedures so that this does not occur again.

Again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Heldrich in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need anything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed for one night in a King Deluxe room. The room was comfortable and decently sized. The pool area was in a complete state of disarray-- there were wet towels strewn all over the floor, no full sized towels were available. Oh, and the pool was COLD.

The Heldrich's website makes it seem as if they are a 'boutique' type hotel when in fact they are just an average, run off the mill hotel.

Next time we decide to come back and visit our alma mater, we'll be staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: I specifically asked for a higher up room. The request was not honored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C and R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Please accept our apologies for some of the issues you had with the Heldrich Hotel & Spa during your recent visit.

I will be working with my Housekeeping Team to ensure that this type of situation does not occur again. I have instructed our Facilities team to look into the pool situation so that this may not occur again. We strive to meet everyone’s expectations and I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations.

Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Heldrich in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me for a future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We've been to Néw Brumswick many times and always stayed at the Hyatt which is lovely but no more lovely than this new hotel on the scene. Lovely rooms. Great service and an even better location steps from the theater and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELFPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about the Heldrich Hotel & Spa this past weekend. The staff was happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of the hotel in comparison to our competitions.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Heldrich in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brunswick
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
#1 of 4 in New Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton East Brunswick Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
0.9 mi away
Rutgers University Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn North Brunswick/New Brunswick
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center
#2 of 7 in East Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites North Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center

Property: The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 10 Livingston Ave, New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1904
Location: United States > New Jersey > New Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heldrich Hotel - where ordinary is obsolete. Located in the heart of New Brunswick, New Jersey, a place where elegance, opulence and ambiance go hand-in-hand with innovation. Where meetings are engineered for results, and your leisure experience is sure to be unforgettable. Located within a few steps of the cultural hub of the city, and a short walk to public transportation and Rutgers University, meet me at The Heldrich! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick
Heldrich New Brunswick
Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing