We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the "W" light”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This is a sleek boutique hotel. Very modern and chic. Conveniently located. Beautiful views of the city. Great rooms (highly suggest the Corner King...it's a suite!). Nice for business travel or pleasure. I got a great discount for being a Rutgers Alum. Enjoyed the bar/lounge, perfect for entertaining friends. I have friends who will be getting married there in the fall, so the event amenities must be good too. The only thing they don't tell you is that they do not have on-site parking. Municipal parking is around the corner and costs $15/day. (The front desk clerk was a little sarcastic when I asked if they validated for guests...which they don't, but many hotels do). If you wnat to pay even more, they do offer valet. But over all, I really liked the hotel!

Room Tip: Request Corner Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwhite99, General Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent experience at The Heldrich Hotel & Spa. Our staff was extremely pleased to hear how satisfied your were with your stay. Compliments such as this, give our staff the recognition they deserve when providing superior service. It is through guests such as yourself that allow us to continue to improve the services and accommodations that we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back in the fall when you attend your friends wedding here at The Heldrich.

Again, thank you so much for your comments.

Warmest Regards,


Maryann White
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 770 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2011

There are a lot of cut corners which makes staying here feel not that special. Cheap toiletries, thin towels, cheap pillows, cheap furniture, small tub. The drawer pull was missing from my dresser/entertainment unit combo. Older TV. Thin walls.
On the plus side: the wifi was free and zippy, and the room-service food was prompt and delicious. Also, rooms and public areas were spotlessly clean. It's not terrible.
I will add my voice to the others requesting that the valet parking company bill through the hotel instead of being two separate transactions at a stressful, busy moment. You would think the entities involved could work that out, and that they haven't bothered to says everything you need to know about this place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eminbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwhite99, General Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Heldrich. It is through guests such as yourself that allow us to improve the service and accommodations that we provide. The Heldrich is in the process of purchasing new towels that are a much better quality. We hope to begin replacing televisions in 2012. I understand your fustration at the parking charges. The Heldrich is working with the New Brunswick Parking Authority so that individual guests can charge to their guest room folio's. We have just completed this process for groups.

Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Heldrich in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Maryann White
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

I was at the Heldrich for a company convention and it was so much more than i expected. Location is excellent close to all restaurants, shops, theatre. The hotel was clean and luxurious and the bed totally comfortable.
The food served during the conference was really good and the staff very friendly.
I appreciate JoAnne's assistance in terms of following up on my credit card reimbursement- the convention was covered by my company, but my card was charged by mistake.
Our group was very happy with the Heldrich, and we will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
Thank parker93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwhite99, General Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

Dear Parker 93,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Heldrich Hotel & Spa. Our entire staff was extremely pleased to hear how satisfied you were with your room, bed, conference services and location of the hotel. The Heldrich is in a great location for many Restaurants, Shops and Theatre's. I was happy to hear that Joanne in our accounting department was able to rectify your billing error so quickly.

Again, thank you so much for this wonderful review and please do not hesitate to call if there is anything that you need.

Warm Regards,
Maryann White
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stayed the night to celebrate our daughter's 12th birthday. The rooms were spacious, beautiful and clean. Everything we needed was right at hand and when something came up, the Manager on Duty, Jessina Alonso was right there like the cavalry!
Jessina tended to every need of the girls (and moms) and made the say lovely and memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patandabbysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwhite99, General Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the Heldrich. I am so glad that all of you were so pleased with the great service that Jessina provided during your stay. Compliments such as this give our staff such a great feeling as they realize how much outstanding service can impact a guests stay. On behalf of the entire staff and management of the Heldrich Hotel, we thank you and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is anything you need.

Warm Regards,
Maryann White
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Hotel was nice. Staff was ok. Had issues checking in because of a misunderstanding, which was highly frustrating. Parking was either valet, $20 minimum, or the pay lot on the street BEHIND the hotel. Ordered food via room service. Room service took almost an hour.$40 for a burger, fries and a salad. Salad was soso, burger was ok, fries were soggy and greasy. Not worth $40 whatsoever. Could've walked to a bar faster and gotten better appetizers for less.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fallenangel529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwhite99, General Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a reveiw about your recent stay at the Heldrich Hotel. It is through these reviews that we are able to improve our service and accommdations that we provide all of our guests Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you had at check in and for the delay and quality of your room service order. I have shared this review with our management staff and they will work hard to correct. Thank you again for taking the time the time to let us know about this and we certainly hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel if there is anything I can do for you.

Have a Wonderful Day!

Maryann White
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Gorgeous hotel and great location! We were only there for one night, it was clean, comfortable, and well appointed. The staff was friendly, the kingsize bed is heaven, and the bathroom was big. After having a bad experience the night before at a similiar hotel, it was refreshing seeing a hotel doing business right and up to standard!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asuroiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwhite99, General Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on your recent stay at the Heldrich Hotel. The entire Staff and Management Team was extremely pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you so much for your business and we hope to welcome you both back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Maryann White
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Booked a room to make a night out of an office x-mas party. The room was very large with lots of windows wrapping around. It was a corner King room. The bed was comfortable and quiet. Had two lounge chairs as well as a desk. The room was clean. I found the TV to be small and outdated by today’s hotel standards but the in room movies worked. I did not use internet. The hotel is in a great location with easy walk to good food and bars. The Hotel could improve its store. To get bottled water had to use a vending machine or visit the bar....would be better to be able to visit the store and charge the room.

The hotel bar was trendy with a Jazz quintet the night we were there. I enjoyed it because it wasn’t too loud, and when the band stopped the piped music wasn’t loud. The crowd was 20-30 something professional. Drinks were ok but expensive. For the same price walk across the street to Katherine Lombardi, and get fine cocktails with superb ingredients, same cost.

Breakfast Buffet on Sunday morning was ok. Eggs to order, and standard fair bacon and potatoes. It was expensive, costing 26 bucks for two after coffee (not the best) and juice (not fresh squeezed). The location and atmosphere are better than the Hyatt, same cost. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B1gDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brunswick
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
#1 of 4 in New Brunswick
943 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn North Brunswick/New Brunswick
2 mi away
Hilton East Brunswick Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center New Brunswick
0.9 mi away
Rutgers University Inn and Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Edison
Crowne Plaza Edison
#4 of 15 in Edison
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 10 Livingston Ave, New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1904
Location: United States > New Jersey > New Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Price Range: $134 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heldrich Hotel - where ordinary is obsolete. Located in the heart of New Brunswick, New Jersey, a place where elegance, opulence and ambiance go hand-in-hand with innovation. Where meetings are engineered for results, and your leisure experience is sure to be unforgettable. Located within a few steps of the cultural hub of the city, and a short walk to public transportation and Rutgers University, meet me at The Heldrich! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick
Heldrich New Brunswick
Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing