We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food - bad setting”
Review of Panico's

Panico's
Reserve with OpenTable
Panico's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 198 Restaurants in New Brunswick
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Nielson Street
Description: Across the street from the main Panico's restaurant, but a totally different establishment, specializing in delicious thin-crust pizza.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Food - bad setting”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I've dined here a few times and always enjoyed my meal. The pastas are cooked just right and the sauces are very tasty. My only issue is the ambiance - this place needs to be updated! I would probably dine here more often if they brightened up the dining room and made it more welcoming and less dark and dingy.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernGurl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    44
    17
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food, mediocre ambiance”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

has some good choices in seafood and pasta to choose from. Flavors were good, lacked some of the wow, portions were pretty big. Would recommend it as a family dining/gathering place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madcity312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed with service”
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Friends of ours speak highly of Panico's so it seemed that buying a Groupon coupon was a good way to try it. My grouper was great with a smaller portion thang other restaurants and my husbands pasta was OK not outstanding. Our waiter was somewhat surely and uncommunicative but otherwise serviice was good. The check was surprising with an 18% tip added which was OK with us. We usually leave 20 and this waiter wasn't worth it. As the food was great we
might go back when we go to plays or NJ SO but don't know.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CranPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton OH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Italian food, time after time.”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I grew up in New Brunswick so and still have family there. We often went to Panico's for large family birthday celebrations. The food was always good and the service outstanding. My wife and I came east to spend a week with my 90+ year old mother, a lover of good food. She can't get out on her own so when we asked her to choose a place to eat and she picked Panico's we went that same day for lunch. We we greeted warmly and seated immediately. Mom is on a low salt diet and the waiter told her that since everything except the sauces were made to order she could have anything else on the menu. The food was hot and delicious. It was great to see that this wonderful restaurant has maintained it's high standards all these years.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1drdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan. NJ
Level Contributor
272 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Ask for the Pre-Theatre Menu; It's a Great Value”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We again visited Panico's on a Sunday evening with friends prior to a 7:00 pm perfomance at the George Street Playhouse. We were given the regular menu, and asked for the pre-theatre menu. It's three courses with limited selections, but worth the ask. The calamari appetizer was perfect - crisp and tender. The entree portions left us sated, not stuffed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyShoreJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panico's also viewed

 

Been to Panico's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing