We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I LOVE MAKEDAS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makeda - CLOSED

Makeda
Cuisines: American, Ethiopian, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I LOVE MAKEDAS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

what can I say...the food is wonderful! I love going there and I love going with people who have never eaten there before. The entrees are all Ethopian, the appetizers are primarily North African. I get to relive my Peace Corps experience with wonderful tastes of spices and flavors not often used in American cooking.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    30
    20
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Ethiopian Food in New Brunswick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Makeda's food is yummy, and the spices and seasonings are different from those we customarily eat. The atmosphere in the restaurant is minimalist and pretty; it's a nice space in which to dine. There are about 6 delicious vegetarian options on the menu, and everything is served with injera, the soft, flat Ethiopian bread made from the nutritious grain, teff. The restaurant has a bar, and Makeda is also a nice place to go for a drink after a performance at one of the local theaters.

On the night that we were at Makeda recently, the service was somewhat spotty, but the food was great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JudyLynneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bread like a wet paper towel and outrageously expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I had a meal here with a group of 6. The wait staff was average for service but the food was horrible. The meals were incredibly expensive for such poor tAste and small quantities of actual food. I ordered the chicken dish and there were literally 5 bites of chicken meat in total. The rest were bones and veggies. Give me a break. This place is more expensive than New York. Not worth it at a quarter of the price!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAYREVILLE
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Ethiopian Restaurant...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Fabulous food, almost similar to Indian (Kerala) cuisine.... Nice atmosphere, good service...be ready to eat with your fingers though!!! Yes Live music too.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilipP893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ethiopian fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Delicious menu, drinks and atmosphere is special. Live music and bumping into locals for this exotic tasty menu, make a visit to Makeda special every time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sfriedlpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makeda also viewed

 
New Brunswick, NJ
New Brunswick, NJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing