We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique menu offerings”
Review of Clydz

Clydz
Reserve with OpenTable
Clydz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 197 Restaurants in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Spring Street and Elm Row
Transit: The restaurant is just 2 blocks from the New Brunswick train station, on the NJ Transit Northeast Corridor Line.
NJ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unique menu offerings”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Went during restaurant week--very good deal! I had the petit portion of the kangaroo--slightly gamey, but lean, beef-like meat. Hubby had the 28-day steak--very large portion! I also had a special salad--loved it! Service was very good--our waiter Brian was attentive without being intrusive. Special requests were honored correctly. The only negative for us is that you have to enter the dining room via the bar, which was packed! We had to squeeze through many people just to get to the dining area. Don't know why the adjacent parking deck is closed--but fortunately it was a pleasant evening so the walk to the next deck was not a problem.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CACAFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    72
    25
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice experience and a different taste overall”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The location is interesting and reminds you of restaurants in Ireland or England for that matter, which are located in the lower floor of buildings, basement in this case. The decor was precisely emphasizing the aspect in a tasteful way. The service was excellent and the food was really nice and tasty. We had the wild boar over risotto and the ceviche , fresh and well balanced. For main dish we had the wild Duck and the 28 days old strip which were really nice also. They have a good selection of wines, we always prefer BYOB places but in this case we made an exemption.
Over all this restaurant is a nice find for us we will come back again. Make reservations it will save you a ton of waiting. They are very famous for their martini drinks all sort of styles.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jucalo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best New Brunswick has to offer”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This place is like something out of a movie. I have been coming here since I turned 21 and it's a place that makes you feel at home. The staff is always incredible and Mike is always the best and truly knows how to run his business. The food is literally something out of this world with so many exotic options and items you can't find anywhere else there is always something to explore. The drinks though are just made with such passion and tradition that can be tasted with each sip that truly lets you take a step back and relax. Also the atmosphere is just something that just can't be compared to any place in town, it really is a hidden gem and is on my favorite restaurants in this world lol from everywhere I been Clydz is a place that I hold so many memories close and can't wait to always make new ones there with friends and family and share them the experience that you feel and enjoy at Clydz.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We arrived and the bar area was packed,the dining area is in back or bar where it is really pleasant atmosphere. We started with Martini's very nice ,appetizers Deviled eggs and the Tortellini wonderful with fresh peas .Salad with cranberries, nuts ,St.Andre cheese .Excellent. My husband got The Marrow and Filet and I the Scallop's delicious all the way! Desert bread pudding! Coffee ! The service excellent! Our server was wonderful I wish we had gotten her name!!!

Helpful?
Thank dottiob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, MD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you like unusual food this is a must try!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Dined here last weekend with my girlfriend. She absolutely loved the drink list and said it was one of the best she'd seen.

As for the food if you are into game you have to try this place. I had the python ravioli and also the bison and boar meatballs for apps - both excellent. For my entre it was the game sampler - antelope done medium rare, venison sausage and quail. Loved all three particularly the quail. The service was excellent as well.

I highly recommend Clydz.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sherm1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clydz also viewed

 
New Brunswick, NJ
New Brunswick, NJ
 

Been to Clydz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing