We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exotic Meats and More?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clydz

Clydz
Reserve with OpenTable
Clydz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 194 Restaurants in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Spring Street and Elm Row
Transit: The restaurant is just 2 blocks from the New Brunswick train station, on the NJ Transit Northeast Corridor Line.
Japan
Level Contributor
197 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Exotic Meats and More?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Took our son to Clyde's for his birthday. He loved it! We all did! We had reservations and arrived a little early. Were seated immediately. The very professional and friendly server brought water and bread and explained the specials. Hubby and son couldn't wait to dig in to some exotic meats. They started with the python ravioli, which they both really liked. Son ordered the game sampler which featured the wild boar, rattlesnake sausage and antelope steak, along with some excellent sides. Hubby had the kangaroo loin. Both agreed everything was good, but both liked the kangaroo best of all. I don't eat meat, so settled for the scallops and homemade fettucini. It was fantastic. We also had an excellent bottle of wine! Our server even wished our son a happy birthday! We'll definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaceJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    71
    23
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
206 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“It's your game”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Go after happy hour if you want just drinks! There is a full dining room in back serving varieties of game. We started off with foi goux delicate and nicely presented. My husband had enjoyed his sampler game platter consisting of rattlesnake sausage, wild boar and antelope with veggie sides. I had a disappointing lobster special. The peppers and artichoke were bit overpowering for the delicate sweet lobster meat. Still a class act place who took care of a round of drinks to make up for it. Don't come across that too often. Laura our waitress was great, knowledgeablea, and made personal drink suggestions.
Large selection of martinis drinks and beers. Although in a college town it serves all and fit for even an intimate dining experience.


Helpful?
1 Thank Akma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“interesting food and great martinis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The chef specializes in game meat. The selection is wonderful and you can always find something you haven't tried on the menu. Their martinis....oh are they wonderful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
Level Contributor
207 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Thankfully back again and wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We've dined at Clydz off and on for several years, the food and service has always been very good BUT now they have a new executive Chef Steve and man is he great! So fantastic to see a local restaurant/bar like Clydz step up and raise their already successful restaurant to a new level. Last week I ate lunch there twice and each time the food and service were great. Chef Steve visited our table to let us know he was going to use us to test a new appetizer that he was considering adding to the menu, he can do that anytime he likes as far as I'm concerned! Wow was it good, Foie gras with a lamb reduction sauce OMG this was really luxurious and I really hope he ads this to their already extensive menu. According to Mike the owner and Chef Steve they are going to continue updating and adding to their menu with LOTS of surprised in store, I for one can't wait, I love this little place and of course if you're in to Martinis there is no where else in a 50 mile radius that you should even consider visiting, only Clyze!
So if you haven't been to Clydz in a while do yourself a HUGE favor and go back SOON! you'll be very happy you did, we sure were!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Like being in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Being in Clydz really makes you feel like there is a slice of the city right in New Brunswick. Incredible game meats, and the best martinis in the state hands down, my favorite is the saketini. I love being able to go to this place whenever I want. The only downside is the parking, there isn't much of it so your forced to park in a garage, but I guess that's just like the city.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clydz also viewed

 

Been to Clydz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing