We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant meal”

The Frog and The Peach
Reserve with OpenTable
The Frog and The Peach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 198 Restaurants in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Dennis Street and Hiram Square
Transit: New Brunswick stop on the Trenton Line
Description: The Frog and The Peach, located in downtown New Brunswick, NJ is one of the Garden State’s premier dining venues, recently named NJ’s best “All Around” restaurant for “its impressive New American cuisine” and rated fourth most popular restaurant in the state by Zagat Survey. Whether seated in one of the warm and inviting alcoves of this stylish, swank restaurant set on two levels, in the newly renovated outdoor Garden, or in the inviting bar area, diners will enjoy Chef/Proprietor Bruce Lefebvre’s modern American menu with a seductive international spin. Try signature selections like the Tuna Sashimi with cucumber salad and lemongrass broth, Black Truffle Gnocchi with almond basil pesto or Tea Cured Duck Breast with a jasmine rice cake, pea greens, shiitake mushrooms and smoked duck jus. The award winning wine list offers 400 selections carefully chosen by wine director Jim Mullen.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Nice and very rich French cooking if you are in the Rutgers University area. All dishes were prepped to our satisfaction. Drink menu a bit pricey my only regrets. Need to come down with the prices there. Otherwise, a pleasant night out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon772009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    91
    40
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Delightful and delectably delicious lunch!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My sister and I had a MOST enjoyable lunch at The Frog and the Peach.

The menu is unexpectedly eclectic and interesting, and some of the ingredients used in the dishes sounded pretentious but were actually perfectly and unpretentiously executed. For example, the rib eye burger with tomato confit and horseradish mayo and smoked onion had wonderful hints of each ingredient, which all blended together perfectly. We started with their soup of the day, a golden beet and potato soup that held the deep, earthy flavor of the beet in a silken bisque-like broth. Our hangar steak was perfectly cooked and unbelievably tender, with the bacon demi glace (served on the side since I don't especially like bacon) adding a lovely counterpoint to the grilled meat. We ordered the 3 course fixed price menu so both enjoyed desserts. The molten chocolate cake (accompanied by a scoop of delicious vanilla bean ice cream) was as perfect a dessert as I've ever had, and the apple crumb cake looked like a Drake's coffee cake but was ethereally light, with moist apples in the center and a caramel sauce and cinnamon whipped cream adorning the plate. This restaurant does it right--all of the components come together on the plate to make each meal a truly enjoyable and delicious dining experience. While this restaurant is far away from where I live (my sister and I each traveled an hour + to meet halfway between our two homes), I will journey back there again--it was THAT enjoyable an experience. Kudos to the chef and the servers who made my sister's birthday celebration so memorable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

With the exception of the endive salad, which was almost an insulting joke, dinner for the four of us was really delicious. We shared a lovely sauvignon blanc, service was good (very slow uptake on request for bread), but food was really wonderful. If you go, get the duck: it was outstanding.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Magic is Gone”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Having been away for an extended period, it was only recently that I had the opportunity to dine at The Frog and the Peach following its transformation under its new ownership. To put things in perspective, I have patronized the establishment frequently for over 20 years. Remarkably, under the stewardship of the legendary Betsy Alger and her husband Jim Black, for more than two decades The Frog remained fresh. The cuisine and the décor evolved gently but steadily over time and in all respects the restaurant maintained an edge as though it still needed to prove itself despite the fact that it had a well-established and deserved place as a leader on the NJ dining scene. Personally, I considered it a step above ordinary fine dining, which I know sounds like a bit of an oxymoron. There was something special about dining at The Frog.

Unfortunately, in every respect, whatever magic The Frog had seems to have been left behind in its current incarnation. First, the décor which was always tastefully modern and minimalist is now sterile and common instead of avant-garde. The lighting over the bar is unflattering and looks like it came from Lowe’s. It would fit in well at TGI Friday’s. Second, the service was spotty and sub-par; that was never the case before. Servers disappeared for interminable periods and the young lady waiting on our party addressed us several times with the perpertually irritating salutation of “you guys.” Finally, the food and drink. The prices of the entrees seem to have been shaved by a few dollars across the board. Apparently management decided to offset that by raising the prices substantially on wine and liquor (example: $15 martinis). Under the previous ownership the menu was creative and interesting. Just reading it was a delight and making selections was difficult. Rather inexplicably, since the new owner is the former chef, that’s no longer the case: it’s far less interesting. It also contains what has become the now ubiquitous and unoriginal separate listing of grilled steaks and chops. Previously, The Frog had been noted for the presentation of its dishes. Sadly, that seems to have gone by the wayside as well. It appeared as though no thought whatsoever was given to presentation. With regard to the taste and quality, our meals were acceptable, but not up to the standard of what we had come to expect at The Frog. In summary, The Frog and the Peach is no longer special, but seems to have joined the rather large cadre of average fine dining establishments in New Jersey and that’s a real loss.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nilesnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great for special occasions”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had an excellent meal. Service and atmosphere were outstanding. Both of us got the tasting menu and were not disappointed by anythign.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spencer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Frog and The Peach also viewed

New Brunswick, NJ
New Brunswick, NJ
 

Been to The Frog and The Peach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing