We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and Ambience - just great!”

The Frog and The Peach
Reserve with OpenTable
The Frog and The Peach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 196 Restaurants in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Dennis Street and Hiram Square
Transit: New Brunswick stop on the Trenton Line
Description: The Frog and The Peach, located in downtown New Brunswick, NJ is one of the Garden State’s premier dining venues, recently named NJ’s best “All Around” restaurant for “its impressive New American cuisine” and rated fourth most popular restaurant in the state by Zagat Survey. Whether seated in one of the warm and inviting alcoves of this stylish, swank restaurant set on two levels, in the newly renovated outdoor Garden, or in the inviting bar area, diners will enjoy Chef/Proprietor Bruce Lefebvre’s modern American menu with a seductive international spin. Try signature selections like the Tuna Sashimi with cucumber salad and lemongrass broth, Black Truffle Gnocchi with almond basil pesto or Tea Cured Duck Breast with a jasmine rice cake, pea greens, shiitake mushrooms and smoked duck jus. The award winning wine list offers 400 selections carefully chosen by wine director Jim Mullen.
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food and Ambience - just great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

A small group of us ate here as a reward for work done on a project. The food which included a wonderful heirloom tomato salad was great. This is the place for a leisurely meal without feeling rushed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusieNavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    85
    38
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very fancy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

overpriced small portion nouveau riche food
I guess if you like that its ok I had eo get a sandwich after dinner

Helpful?
Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A beautiful anniversary dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We recently dined at the Frog & Peach for our anniversary and were very pleased. We made a reservation and arrived on time and were promptly greeted & seated. They set up a booth in a small area inside that was separate from the larger dining room (they offered outdoor seating, but it was raining).
The wait staff brought over some complimentary champagne for our anniversary and some dinner rolls and butter. To start, we ordered the Black Truffle Ricotta Gnocchi appetizer (which had great flavor), and the Cornmeal Crusted Quail (which was perfectly cooked).
For dinner, we ordered the Griggstown Chicken Breast (which is served with mole sauce and is served over dirty rice and avocado) and Pan Roasted Halibut (served with Yukon gold potato and succotash). I opted for Baked Macaroni & Smoked gouda side dish that was served in a small crock pot - it was absolutely delicious! Both entrees were cooked well, tasty and nicely balanced with good flavors. At the end of the meal we were stuffed but treated to two small petit fours to round out our anniversary meal.
We enjoyed our meal, the atmosphere & ambiance. The wait staff were excellent and attentive, refilling drinks and checking in throughout the meal.
The only things that would make it better - the appetizers were both small and the prices were a tad high across the board for the amount of food received.
Overall, a pleasant dining experience, delicious food and excellent staff - worth another visit!
A memorable anniversary dinner!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VacayDivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go for the Lunch and the Friday Tapas specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

So everybody knows the Frog and the Peach. It was New Brunswick's first fancy restaurant but you probably have not been back in a while because it was so pricey. Ahh but now if you go for the three course lunch special you can sit outside and leisurely enjoy your lunch even sip a glass of wine (included in one the specials). Or go for Tapas Friday - great bar specials and easy atmosphere. There is also a $42 pre-threatre special.

Food is very good but the service is slow and depending oh whom you get may need stick removed. But if you get a good one (generally the waitresses over waiters) they are really nice.

Lastly our side of the happy hour drink prices are high so go for the daily $8 cocktail.

Good eatin

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good food that's stood the test of time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Frog and the Peach has been one of the premier restaurants in New Brunswick for close to 30 years. The amazing thing is that they continue to innovate and serve wonderful food year after year. We went the other night for an 80th birthday party. We were seated in an alcove adjacent to the bar, but separate from the main dining room. The food as usual was very, very good. I had bone marrow served with sides of sea salt, a jam and a capered parsley. It was unique. I was then served an arctic char served in a lentil and eggplant broth; sublte, but scrumptuous. Others at my table had lamb neck -- a tender, well-seasoned cut that one rarely finds elsewhere. This had been just added a menu that undergoes change on a regular basis. My one frustration is that the service was spotty and the dishes took a very long time to come out despite that the fact that the restaurant was not very crowded on this summer weekend. I hate to think that the service was affected by the 20% gratuity that the restaurant automatically tacks on for parties of 6 or more. The meal took three hours and we had to ask for the check at that point.
I'll certainly be back for the food. However if a restaurant is going to tack on a gratuity of 20%, they'd best deliver top drawer service

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GSM1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Frog and The Peach also viewed

New Brunswick, NJ
New Brunswick, NJ
 
New Brunswick, NJ
New Brunswick, NJ
 

Been to The Frog and The Peach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing