We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food at a value price...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mamoun's Falafel

Mamoun's Falafel
Ranked #21 of 194 Restaurants in New Brunswick
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Decent food at a value price...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

After four meals at Mamoun's I have to agree with Simon's review... it serves decent food but is sandwiched between two Middle Eastern restaurants that are much better (Effie’s and Sahara). The basic vegetarian sandwich is good, but the spinach pie I tried was not. Nor was the baklava that was so over baked it was dry and tasted burnt. (If you have a cooking disaster, you shouldn't serve the food.) What Mamoun's has going for is that it is cheaper than other Middle Eastern restaurants and the service is quick (and friendly) - both features that are popular with students. Also on the plus side - the inside/outside seating at Mamoun's is pleasant and I like the music the staff plays.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 29Teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This review is specific to Mamoun's in New Brunswick.

Mamoun's is famous for its falafels. It is a quick food joint, nothing fancy, but the food is good.

They have limited items on the menu but have vegetarian options as well. Recommended if you are in the area and looking to try something other than American food.

Their drinks are a tad too sweet but refreshing. Their hot sauce is HOT for even the most tolerant spice eaters, so beware.

At this location, service is prompt and friendly. Never seen it too crowded even though it is in the Rutger's university area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Not bad, but not amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Mamoun's is a great place to go with friends for a cheaper meal (than other Middle Eastern places in the area). Overall the food is ok but not amazing

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SimoniLu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tasty delights in New Brunswick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We LOVE this place and we just happened upon it by chance. It is located about 2 blocks from the train station so it's very convenient as you get on or off the train. The cooks work really hard and the counter service guys are very attentive. Now..the food! The portion sizes are generous, especially given the low prices. So far, we have tried the hummus, falafel, tabouleh, spinach pie, Shawarma, fava bean on pita bread, and the best are the Greek desserts.Oh, and also their mango drink is wonderful, as is their spiced iced tea. We still talk about how good the food is, and it's been weeks since we have been there!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dosacquas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Late night falafels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great tasting falafels, fast service and very budget conscious. I got a falafel plate $6 and if you want two sides of salad and rice it's only $1 extra. It seems that all the tables are always taken, but the wait is not bad. By the time our food came out, a table cleared up. I'm a new fan, but I will definitely be back to try other things from the menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ilak55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamoun's Falafel also viewed

New Brunswick, NJ
 
New Brunswick, NJ
 

Been to Mamoun's Falafel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing