We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT BOTHER”

Christopher's Restaurant at the Heldrich
Ranked #31 of 198 Restaurants in New Brunswick
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: New Street
Description: Enjoy all-day dining at Christopher's The Heldrich’s casually sophisticated restaurant & Lounge. Serving freshly prepared specialties to delight the discriminating palate. The trendy metropolitan bar is a welcome haven for savvy cocktails, beverages & spirited conversation. The cuisine & ambiance of The Heldrich are destined to be a favorite of locals & guests alike. Check out our website and Facebook page for updated Special events and packages with the hotel!
Sussex, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“DONT BOTHER”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Yuck, tasteless. Way overpriced. Plenty of other gems in New Brunswick.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sailaway22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh L, Food & Beverage Manager at Christopher's Restaurant at the Heldrich, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Good Afternoon,

I would like to take the time to first of all thank you for taking the time to respond to Christopher's on Trip Advisor. I apologize greatly that your dining experience with us was not to your satisfaction but we are in the process of changing and re-vamping our menu currently with the changing season and I hope that you visit us again and give us another chance.

Thank you again and your comments are much appreciated!

Ashleigh Lee
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    27
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BAD EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We 5:50pm. Had tickets to a show at State Theather starting at 7:30. Had a round of drinks, one couple split a salad and our very medicore entrees arrived at 7:12. Small cold sea bass and ok potatoes. Had to rush just to make show. Np coffee or desert.

A table across from us(party of 8) arived at 5:30. Half the table got their food at 7:pm the other half at 7:15pm.

Would never go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lester201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh L, Food and Beverage Manager at Christopher's Restaurant at the Heldrich, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Good Afternoon! I want to take the time to sincerely apologize for the experience you had while dining with us at Christopher's. There are no excuses to rectify what happened and I personally apologize for the time you had with us. again, from all of us we apologize for everything.

Ashleigh Lee
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal New York
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“OK for dinner”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Ate dinner there on Superbowl night - only ones in the restaurant. Service was good but not anything special. Food was good, but not so good that we would go back, and dining room does not have much character.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stangina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh L, Food & Beverage Manager at Christopher's Restaurant at the Heldrich, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you very much for joining us on Super Bowl Sunday in our Bar. Unfortunately, it did not turn out to be a very busy evening for us but we wanted to still do something a little special and different for the Super Bowl Game. Our restaurant has a great menu though with much to offer our guests and I hope you think about trying our restaurant or even Bar menu in the future.

Thank you.

Ashleigh Lee
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I went with a friend, got the escargot and duck confit risotto. For my entree I got the open seafood ravioli and my friend got the steak. We shared the garlic mashed potatoes. Everything was delicious! I can't stop thinking about the duck confit... it was amazing! good atmosphere and good service!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank kim_nj1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh L, Food and Beverage Manager at Christopher's Restaurant at the Heldrich, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
On behalf of Christopher's Restaurant & Bar and The Heldrich Hotel, I want to personally thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything so much and are greatly looking forward to having you as our guest in the near future! Thank you again and happy new year!

Ashleigh Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Went via a NYE package that inc. dinner and breakfast the next morning. I found the chicken a bit salty, but since I don't use any salt on foods it may have been just me. Husband had filet mignon and it was good but could have used a bit more mushrooms. Duck spring roll and veggie phyllo appetizers were good starters. The breakfast buffet was above average and included made to order omelets/eggs, french toast, waffles, lox, bread & bagels, fresh fruit, granola w/ all kinds of toppings, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, yogurt, lox, and bakery items. The blueberry scones were delicious.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank black325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh L, Manager at Christopher's Restaurant at the Heldrich, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Christopher's on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you found the chicken a bit salty but I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and the other courses in your meal. We hope to have you as our guest again in the near future. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christopher's Restaurant at the Heldrich also viewed

 

Been to Christopher's Restaurant at the Heldrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing