We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mexican Food”

Don Jose Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Netcong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
278 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Food”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Over the years, we'd never found a match for a restaurant in East Hanover called Don Jose that had the best Mexican food we could find. Now, though, we have finally found a match: this Don Jose of Netcong. Compared to its original location, this location is much more spacious, carries a full bat, and contains much more natural light. One thing that doesn't change between the locations is the exceptional staff, attentive to the water and the chips. Everything we like about the original location is present here with bigger portions: great tostadas, chimichangas, tacos, nachos, and the best salsa you can find anywhere. If we're in the area again, we'll most certainly come here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kirbyfan1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    35
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pretty good for (really) north of the border!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Good basic menu - everyone is sure to find something they like. The red sangria was good. The place is clean and nicely decorated - fun but not over the top! Our waiter was pleasant but didn't come back to check on us or offer us any more chips - one small basket wasn't quite enough for more than 2 people. Glad to have found a nearby, decent, fairly priced Mexican restaurant - we will return!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
264 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Don Jose”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The food here is typical Mexican fare; don't expect anything exotic or out of the ordinary. They are creative with their drink menu, but have a limited beer menu. The salsa is quite good and the prices reasonable. I don't particularly care for the table and booth configuration, but like most chains, they are trying to squeeze in as many customers as possible. Weekend nights include strolling musicians.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RAFincher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Husband said, it was much better than expected!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I've been to Don Jose Mexican Restaurant twice in about 12 months. Both times, the wait staff has been very kind and attentive. We went just the other night for our anniversary. We got the jumbo Margarita to begin. They give you extra lime if you ask them. I would have preferred a little less ice in mine, as my husband's was just right, and mine had most of the ice. My drink was gone too quickly! It was very good and made right. We had 2 folks helping us, one for drinks and one for the food. They brought chips and a medium/spicy salsa that was very good.

When our plates of food came out, it was piping hot, which was great! The Mexican Steak my husband ordered was better than he expected. It was covered with a nicely done sautéed red onion, with some Mexican yellow rice and some black beans. He loved that. I had an enchilada platter with tasty refried moist beans and delicious Mexican rice. It was good, and plenty of it. Needless to say, we both cleared our plates.

I would go back again anytime, and love the atmosphere, the bright theme colors, wood carved furniture with the room being warmed to the right temperature with a huge stone fireplace standing to the one side of the room. It's perfect and I love the booths near the fireplace. If you tend to be chilly, try asking for a booth near the fireplace which should seat up to 4 comfortably.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank happybeststuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best frozenmargaritas...”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The food here is very good, but they make the best frozen margaritas! The food and atmosphere looks authentic and the restaurant is nicely decorated. The best Mexican Restaurant around. The enchiladas were very good and the portions are good. This is a fun place to have a cheerful diner and we will be back. This restaurant is so much better than the one across the street that closed down a few years ago. They may have put the other Mexican restaurant, Fresco, out of business in Flanders due to Fresco's small portions and high prices (The Fresco in Chester is still open).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Jose Mexican Restaurant also viewed

East Hanover, Morris County
Rockaway, Morris County
 
Netcong, Morris County
 

Been to Don Jose Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing