We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally... Great Mexican food in the area!”

Don Jose Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Netcong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Finally... Great Mexican food in the area!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love Don Jose and I think others do too. It's always packed. You get large portions and they are accommodating with substitutions. The wait staff is always friendly and take the time to get to know their regular customers. Try the peach Melba drink...awesome! Guacamole is amazing too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Forte517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    35
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A Really Good Meal”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Three of us ate her recently and were very pleasantly surprised. The food was very fresh and well prepared. I had the flautas, my husband the steak Cinco de Mayo and a friend had the steak ranchero. Everyone was pleased with the flavor and the portion size or their meal. They had strolling mariachi musicians that added to the atmosphere. The only issue was the beers were a bit overpriced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calico696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the average rating is a gift...”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

the food tasted like microwaved leftovers and the service was the same... The best part about this place was the high prices!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank owlgirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“¡Viva Don José!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Authentic food served in a truly hospitable Mexican-styled atmosphere. We have been coming since the restaurant opened and have only found it o get better with time. The managent now recognizes us as treats us like family, which is always a delight. We recommend calling ahead for a dinner reservation or you may wait; not that it isn't worth the wait!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendersender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average food awful service”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The food is nothing special. We went for dinner. The staff didn't smile once, not one person. Our waiter was so cold, almost robotic. I asked for guacamole with my order. My order came without it. I asked again for it the waiter didn't get it and went to talk at the bar with the other servers. My husband had to ask someone else to get it because our waiter never came back to ask how everything was. Will not go back. I want to go eat where I feel comfortable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pandl0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Jose Mexican Restaurant also viewed

East Hanover, Morris County
Rockaway, Morris County
 
Netcong, Morris County
 
Netcong, Morris County
Netcong, Morris County
 

Been to Don Jose Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing