We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than others in the same class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Neptune
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Neptune
Certificate of Excellence
West New York, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Better than others in the same class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We took a chance to spend a fall weekend at the NJ shore. We got lucky as it turned into a spectacular weekend with beautiful sunshine and mild temperatures. The hotel served us well for the purpose. It's not directly on the shore so price is reasonable. We got a prepaid rate via priceline which saved us even more. The rooms were nice and large. The entire hotel felt like it was recently renovated. Staff was efficient and there is no complaint from us. Breakfast buffet is decent with nice selections including eggs and bacon. Compare to the same hotel class, breakfast here is much better. I didn't use the small gym but I used the indoor swimming pool a few times which I enjoyed. One only downside was a large party arrived for a wedding and they talked loudly in the hallway at odd hours. We heard our neighbor came out to yell at them but they kept talking some more until finally quiet down a bit later. The hotel served us well. It is among one of the few that we plan to return next time we visit the shore. Hope they survived hurricane Sandy with minimal damage.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CliveNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Neptune, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hi CliveNYC,

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Holiday Inn Express Neptune, and we are so glad you chose to stay with us!

We do apologize you had an issue with noise from a wedding party. If issues like this arise, we always encourage guests to contact our staff with any questions, comments, or concerns so we can ensure you enjoy your stay completely.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    86
    24
    14
    6
See reviews for
102
51
14
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express in Neptune is new within the last couple of years and the rooms are very nice! The furnishings are modern, comfortable and clean. The bath was lit with plenty of counter space, and the room itself was a little larger than average. The free breakfast buffet was good, offering the usual faire - yogurt, sweet rolls, pancakes, eggs or omelets, bacon or sausage, and a selection of breads & muffins. My only suggestion would be to provide a place for smokers to light-up somewhere other than the main entrance. Smokers sit on the park bench just outside the front door - meaning everyone (smokers and non-smokers) have to walk through a smoky gauntlet to get inside. Overall, this is a terrific hotel that is obviously managed with good care and well maintained.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZipHereAndThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Neptune, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hi dclinda,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Holiday Inn Express Neptune. We are glad you enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer.

We want you to know that we appreciate your suggestion about a separate smoking section, and we will take it into consideration.

Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is brand new! The staff were kind and friendly, and the rooms were amazingly spotless! I was really surprised with how great the hotel was. They have a Walmart down the street that's open 24/7 which helped out a lot, and also a mall and many restaurants not too far away on Route 35. I will return back anytime I'm back in Jersey! I most definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Mullen001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Neptune, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hi Chris_Mullen001,

Thank you so much for your amazing review!

We are thrilled that you had a wonderful experience staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!


From all of us at the Holiday Inn Express Neptune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here overnight with a party of 20 for a company outing. In addition to sleeping over, we used the indoor pool in the afternoon after check-in, and the free breakfast buffet in the morning.

The pool area was a bit cramped for more than a handful of people, but nice to have all the same. Same with breakfast room--quite cramped and not really able to accommodate the rush of guests coming in for the free breakfast. But the breakfast itself was quite decent.

Rooms are fairly new, so furnishings and decor are modern, sleek, and clean. Rooms are also big so King room fine for 2 people; and 2 double OK for couple with 2 small kids.

Location is right off Route 66 in Neptune, so it was a short driving distance to Asbury Park which is where we spent most of our time. Very convenient and far more affordable than Asbury hotels.

Only complaint is that the girl at the front desk managed to screw up our billing, despite me spending a solid half hour with her as we checked out party in. Entire bill was supposed to go on my corporate card, yet somehow 2 of the individuals in our party didn't end up no my master bill and they were charged individually. I didn't find out until a week later, however, when I called a week later to get it fixed, they promptly fixed it, so no harm done.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Neptune, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Claudia P,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Neptune!

We love hearing from guests and appreciate your feedback. We are glad you had an enjoyable experience at our property and had a great time during your stay.

We do apologize for the billing confusion, but we are glad to have fixed the problem promptly to accommodate you and your party.

We hope you return to our property in the future and that we receive another great review from you.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We did room blocks for a wedding we had in town. Service was great. Sales reps were very responsive. The hotel is brand new. The shower in our King room was impressive. Breakfast is standard and complimentary. Best hotel to stay at in the area especially when having an event in town.

Only problem was that one of our guests had their tire stolen off their car in the parking lot. They need more lighting and perhaps some out door cameras as that area can get a little sketchy and has a lot of traffic volume.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfnjwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a very clean, new property with friendly staff, but the hotel has some poor design qualities and location flaws. The room and bathroom were spotless..probably one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed at, but the bed was uncomfortably firm and the pillows were cheap and uncomfortable. There were different choices of "soft" and "firm" pillows on the bed yet neither were comfortable. Two things I didn't like in the bathroom...1) the bathroom door automatically shut, so if you wanted it kept open you had to prop it open with a suitcase or something and 2) the bathroom light and fan were the same switch so you couldn't have just one or the other. Breakfast in the morning was good with a large selection...typical for a holiday inn express. I forgot my hairbrush, nail file/emery board, and Q-tips so I asked the front desk if they had any of those items- all they had was a small plastic comb (though it worked well enough), but no on the other two items. This hotel does not allow pets, though I think it would be a great if they did as there is a large grassy field behind the hotel. As for location, the hotel is off of a busy road and even though it's only one lane in each direction the high traffic volume makes it difficult to turn left-in and left-out of the property. The new Wawa next door prohibits left-turns out (something to be said about the traffic on this road). The Wawa also makes it difficult to turn bc every time there is a gap in traffic people are usually turning out of Wawa.The hotels check-out time is noon which was nice. There was also a pool, small arcade, fitness center, laundry facilities, and business center...none of which I used, but nice that they were offered. Overall, decent, clean hotel with some annoying qualities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pointgiven71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was a 3 star property, and frankly, not on par in terms of amenities with Hilton Garden Inn and other properties typically rated as 3 star properties in Trip Advisor. This hotel was perfectly adequate for our brief weekend stay: clean, satisfactory breakfast, and pleasant furnishings in the room. However, our room was not serviced until about 5 pm on the second day of our stay due to the hotel being "slammed" with a slew of check-ins of wedding guests. Elevator is dreadfully slow, and internet connection is also slow. Just about what I expect from a Holiday Inn Express, but, in my opinion, not worthy of the 5-star ratings all over Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogmom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neptune
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Neptune/Wall
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
3.9 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Neptune
Red Roof Inn Neptune
#3 of 6 in Neptune
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Wall at Monmouth Shores Corporate Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Neptune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Neptune

Property: Holiday Inn Express Neptune
Address: 3510 State Route 66, Neptune, NJ 07753-2603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Neptune
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Neptune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Neptune 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart(R) at the brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel of Neptune, NJ, ideally situated near exit 102 (coming from the North) and exit 100A (coming from the South) of the Garden State Parkway, minutes from the Jersey Shore Premium Outlets, Asbury Park Boardwalk and beautiful Jersey Shore Beaches. Enjoy our wide array of just built first-class features - a heated, indoor pool, 24-hour business center and state-of-the-art fitness center. We offer attentive service with a personal touch. Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in (some exceptions apply). Valid photo ID and credit card required at check in. For arrivals from Memorial Day through Labor Day, cancellations may be made by 6pm at least one day prior to arrival. For arrivals after Labor Day and before Memorial Day, cancellations may be made by 6pm on the day of arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Neptune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Neptune Hotel Neptune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing