We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NAAN! with a capital N!!”

Monsoon Indian Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Monsoon Indian Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 119 Restaurants in Mount Laurel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 38 & Briggs Road
South Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“NAAN! with a capital N!!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went to Monsoon for the first time last night for Valentine's dinner. We had a 7:30 reservation but arrived about 7:00 and they seated us immediately, that was a big plus! The restaurant has about 25 tables and all but 2 or 3 were filled. The decor is modern with clean lines (very comfortable). The menu was a fixed (we didn't realize this until we got there) for that night. Soup, appetizer, entree , bread, and dessert. We are vegetarian so there weren't many choices, but what we had was delicious! We started with the soup, a well-seasoned tomato with a creamy texture, the appetizer was a garlic mushroom saute, a cream based sauce with peppers, very good, but would have enjoyed a little more seasoning, the entree was grilled vegetables, with huge pieces of paneer and again a light colored creamy sauce, deliciously grilled with a slightly smoky flavor and a huge bowl of fragrant rice, and a basket of Naan (plain) to die for so soft chewy and delicious, perhaps the best I have had anywhere in the area. Our dessert was an Indian sweet with a honey sauce, good but a little too sweet for me. I should have gotten the mango dessert I saw at other tables, it looked great! Overall the food was very good although a different style Indian that we have had elsewhere, ( I assume it is from a different region.) and the service was just OK . I will attribute it to being a busy holiday. The bill for the two of us without drinks was $60 . I can't wait to go back to sample the regular menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJpunkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    42
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swedesboro, NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent buffet lunch!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We go here for lunch during the week often for their buffet. It is a delicious, hearty assortment and we always enjoy it. Naan bread is served with your meal. It usually gets crowded during lunch time! Note, they are not open currently on Mondays however. Love it here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank issymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level Contributor
242 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Sunday Buffet Disappointing”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Monsoon gives off an urban hip vibe when you first walk through its doors. Unlike many Indian restaurants, Monsoon eschews traditional trappings of many Indian restaurants in favor of a clean look.

We arrived around 1:30 pm in the middle of their Sunday lunch buffet service. The restaurant was half full with patrons. No one greeted us at the door so we headed to a table near the windows. Some time after we sat, a server approached our table for a drink order, then we headed to the buffet.

The buffet line is set up somewhat awkwardly in an upside down L shape with the plates on the short end . This created a back up of diners waiting to access the buffet line. To make things even more congested, the condiments were the first things on the horizontal buffet which we thought was very odd since the condiments you choose may very well depend on the selections you make from the buffet line. This set up forces you to go back to the start of the line to add condiments to your plate, interfering with the progress of the line.

Our biggest disappointment was that no one seemed to be paying much attention to the buffet offerings. When we arrived, the Tandoori chicken display had only two pieces of chicken which were both really overcooked. Though we were there for more than an hour, no additional pieces of chicken were brought out. This seemed true for all the items on the buffet line. Our food was never really fresh (or hot) and definitely gave the impression of being "picked over".

When we were done, it took a long time to get the check, and then a longer time again to have someone come over and process the credit card.

The area has so many excellent restaurants that there is no need to return to this one with so so food and service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boudecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“good food, reasonable priced, but bad service”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

we live close by so been here quite a few times. They have a lunch buffet that is really very good with delicious food and changing items at a very reasonable price. but the service is soooooo unfriendly that makes the whole experience sour. We would go more ofter if they were a little friendlier but when the staff is so rude, it is hard to enjoy your meal :-(

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice Food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food is always good as well as the service. My husband and I dine here frequently as it's only 10 minutes from home. We love the Aloo Papri Chaat appetizer. The chicken dishes are all very good. The tandoori vegetable platter is excellent although I wish the portion was larger. My favorite vegetarian entree is Kadai Paneer with a tasty sauce and lots of Paneer, peppers and onions. We will continue to eat here at least once a month or more.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gretasuetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Mount Laurel, NJ
 

Been to Monsoon Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing