We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninvited Guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Mount Laurel
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My stay wasn't bad, it was my exit that would have prevented me from spending the night at this place. Long story short, the place has bed bugs. I have pics and video of them moving. there were carcasses left behind, so you know they were there a while. the housekeeper and another worker were horrified and didn't want to go near it. when we finally got in touch with a manager, they said they needed to verify that it was bed bugs! don't worry, i have a call into the department of health and they will make sure that you do the needful! so now we have to wait for a refund and that doesn't even account for the fact that we had to put our stuff in garbage bags and put them in the dryer for an hour at a time to ensure that we are in the clear. Up until we found the critters, it was a good stay. from now on, i check under mattress in any hotel i stay at, especially for our next trip in 2 weeks! our other friends had mattress covers so they knew about the problem. the manager even said they sprayed 3 weeks ago. other than that, nice hotel. thanks for the garbage bags, hopefully this doesn't affect me.

Room Tip: rooms without bed bugs are great. check under the mattress! we were in room 301, king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jr a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushis, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thanks for notifying us of the issue. We take this issue serious as every hotel should. We have regular monthly service in all our rooms as a preventive measure and also have mattress and box spring covers installed in each room. We have since called the exterminator back out to remedy the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 559 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

We actually liked the hotel and our rooms. We spent one night and in the morning my sister notice she had a bed bug in her room. She was in room 301 and I was in room 326. I checked my room (326) we also had bed bugs. Obviously, this is not an isolated incidence. It was hard to get in touch with the manager on duty. I just want people to be aware! Check the bed and boxsprings!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Temitayo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushis, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thanks for notifying us of the issue. We take this issue serious as every hotel should. We have regular monthly service in all our rooms as a preventive measure and also have mattress and box spring covers installed in each room. We have since called the exterminator back out to remedy the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

my daughter and I stayed one night on our way home from Atlantic City. the staff we encountered on both the day and night shifts were helpful and kind. our room was spotless clean, we loved the layout. the bathroom was beautiful and again very clean. the entire hotel was very well kept. the breakfast buffet was nice and more than we expected, could use some muffins or pastries but more than enough options. the area surrounding the hotel is nice and both Whole Foods and Trader Joe's are 5 minute drive.
would stay here in the future....was a nice ending to a great mini vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yoga321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushis, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thanks for the awesome review. Hope you did well in Atlantic City! Our convenient locations serves well for those that are looking for great shopping and restaurants. Trader Joe's and Whole Foods are two of our favorites too!

Thanks,

Rushi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very nice Hotel/Motel very close to the New-Jersey turnpike. The staff on both occasions were friendly and helpful in finding a restaurant for supper. Free breakfast was pretty good for a buffet. Will stay again on our next trip to Virginia Beach, Myrtle Beach...etc

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAHMT1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushis, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Our hotel serves as the perfect halfway point from Canada and/or New England to the DMV! (D.C. Maryland, Virgina)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Where do I begin, there were complications from the moment we checked in to the moment we left. Let me highlight the major concerns and keep in mind that i am only giving a brief overview as there were so many things wrong the list would be more than the allotted space provided, upon check in we were promised as per our living social deal an edible arrangement gift (there was non), the customer service at the front desk was horrendous absolutely non existent and disastrous, everyone was abrupt, impatient and lacking any enthusiasm to help us solve our problems which were
1. No paper in the business center to accommodate us to print our living social voucher.
2. No ac in the bedroom, it was non functional.
3. Stopper to contain water in the bathtub to give little ones a bathe was broken and could not be fixed.
4.Dresser draws broken/missing.
5. Not one hello/good day from any staff member as a matter of fact no interaction but to dispute charges on my account and to ask about the items that needed to be fixed.
6.Complimentary breakfast (DISASTER) nothing was organized and the "waffle maker" was beyond filthy and yes you had to make the waffles your self even crack your own eggs it was very DIY.
This whole MOTEL, oops I meant hotel is run on a DIY service method, since no one was willing to help, fix or clean anything. Oh and btw if you intend on getting a full night rest DO NOT choose this place, the walls are paper thin and there were guests above us running and screaming ALL NIGHT our party could not get ANY sleep, very unpleasant trip and waste of money completely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushis, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thanks for your review.

We would like to apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay.

1. Sorry about the printers not having paper. This is a free service we offer to the guests and so they get used a lot. Please stop by the desk and we'll be more than happy to put paper in the printer for you!
2. Our AC units are controlled using the thermostats on the wall rather than from the AC unit itself. We realize this is different than most hotels, but we do it for convenience! It's a lot nicer controlling the units from eye level instead of having to bend down.
3. We do have extra stoppers at the hotel, but this is something our maintenance staff keeps, not our housekeeping. Please contact our front desk and they'll be more than happy to have maintenance come to the room to assist.
4. We are aware of the issue of some drawers in the rooms not wanting to stay shut!
5. All members of staff should greet hotel guests as they come and go. We'll discuss this during our next team meeting.
6. Weekends are very busy! Our breakfast attendant really does try her best to keep up and during the busier mornings we keep an extra person on to assist.

Thanks once again and we hope that you'll give us another chance to serve you should the need arise.

Thanks,

Rushi
3.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Hotel was excellent. Very clean inside and out and in comparison to others nearby, very affordable. The breakfast was an added bonus and it was quite fulfilling. I will definitely consider staying here in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Topher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushis, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thanks for the review! We pride ourselves as being the best value in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was marred by the room itself, things that didn't work in the room, and problems with TV choices. First, as soon as we got to the hotel and went up to the room we had to change rooms. The hotel was only about 1/2 full, but the desk clerk put us in a room right next to the elevator. When I went downstairs to change rooms, the clerk looked surprised at my concern, didn't want to believe we hadn't gone into the room, and was very slow offering a different choice. She had to be pressed to do so (there were 5 other rooms on the same floor similar to the one we had requested).

Second, things that didn't work: the alarm clock and the reading light by the bed didn't work. Two drawers (the top and the bottom) of the chest of drawers wouldn't stay shut. We had to prop our shoes against them to keep from getting bruised in the night. This problem would be noticeable to anyone who came in the room for 15 seconds, that's how quickly the drawers began to open after being shut tightly.
A plaque on the bedroom door made several points about the pool/lifeguard, etc. - there was no pool. Not a big thing, but indicative of a certain carelessness. When questioned about this, the Manager said they didn't want to take them off because "it would trigger an inspection."

Finally, and most important to us, the hotel didn't have PBS on their cable. I can't believe that no people wanting intellectual shows stay at the hotel, so why aren't they providing this benefit to travelers. There were other noticeable gaps in TV channel coverage, but PBS made me crazy. I never thought that I needed to check with the desk about TV channels before booking a room. At this place, you do.

A staff member, Jannette, who handled breakfast was terrific - a smile for everyone, and a very helpful attitude.

Final assessment: hotel looks good on the surface, but no substance behind the looks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank claudia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushis, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thanks for the review.

I apologize for the inconvenience of being assigned a room near the elevator. We ask that guests specify special requests such as room location, floor preference etc. at the time of reservation or at the time of check-in to ensure that the stay is an enjoyable one.

Our alarm clocks and nightstand lights are controlled by a switch and this could have very well been switched to the off position. We formerly had a whirlpool spa, but have re-purposed this space for our new, expanded fitness center. The signs will be coming off the doors soon!

We only offer HD channels at the hotel and Dish Network did not offer this at the time of our install. After some research, I'm not sure they offer this in the Philadelphia market just yet. We'll certainly revisit this during our next lineup change to be sure.

Thanks once again for just review and business and if you would like to discuss this matter further please contact us at info@wingatemtlaurel.com

Thanks,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Laurel hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mt. Laurel
Hyatt Place Mt. Laurel
#1 of 28 in Mount Laurel
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Philadelphia - Mount Laurel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mt. Laurel
Hilton Garden Inn Mt. Laurel
#6 of 28 in Mount Laurel
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Mt. Laurel
1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia/Mt. Laurel
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Philadelphia - Mt. Laurel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia

Address: 5000 Clover Rd, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054-5110 (Formerly Wingate By Wyndham Mt. Laurel/Philadelphia Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Mount Laurel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Mount Laurel
Price Range: $81 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LaQuinta, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Mount Laurel Hotel Mount Laurel
Wingate Mount Laurel
Wyndham Mount Laurel
Mount Laurel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing