We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Mount Laurel
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place is a dump”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I did not enjoy my stay at this hotel at all. There were numerous problems. The hotel is dangerously understaffed. We would return to find our room had not been cleaned after being out all day. In addition it was common for the water to go off and on during our stay. Please, do not, under any circumstances, book at this terrible hotel. Ultimately I blame myself. I didn't look at some of the older reviews where this appears to be a systemic problem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drlatif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushis, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thanks for your review. It seems as though you were part of the same group as our last review. I apologize once again for the inconveniences which occurred during your stay. I hope that you will give us another try if the need for a room in Mt Laurel should happen again.

Be Well,

Rushi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    175
    82
    25
    26
See reviews for
218
115
36
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2011

When we arrived at the front lobby, there was nobody waiting at the desk. We quite literally stood there for a whole ten minutes waiting for the front desk attendant. It turns out the owner streamlines by making the front desk attendant clean rooms.

Yes, this hotel is operated by ONE person. Even the front desk attendant will tell you that they're short staffed.

On our first night's stay we were locked in our room because of a lock malfunction. As if that wasn't enough, we discovered after our second night that the room door does not luck on your way out unless you jiggle it just the right way.

ON TOP OF ALL THIS, the water stopped on us right as we returned from a hot busy day. This is by far the greatest inconvenience to anyone's vacation plans.

We will never stay at a Wyndham ever again. I can not believe that this place received good review from 48 individuals. One of the water pumps went out and it was obviously a lack of maintenance because they said their spare was also out of service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blatif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushis, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thanks for your review. I apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay with us. Please know that our front desk agents do not also serve as room attendants. The Front Desk Agent was most likely taking care of another guest's needs. I apologize for the wait time at the desk. We have a sign to let guests know that we will be back as soon as possible at the desk whenever we step away from a moment. Our doors do automatically deadbolt themselves as a safety feature. A lot of times it will remain in deadbolt position even after opening the door. This issue can be solved by simple pushing down on the inside door handle. We do once again apologize about the water situation. It was something that was out of hands and I assure you that it was not due to negligence on the part of our maintenance department. We tried to work through it as fast as we could and within a couple of hours everything was back to normal.

Thanks once again for your review and let me know if you are ever in town again!

Be Well,

Rushi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Worse Hotel I have ever stayed at. Just prior to getting ready for a family wedding, the Management turned off the water to all rooms within the building without notice for most of that Saturday I happen to be there. The desk clerk could not tell me why the water was turned off, when it would be turned back on, and Management was totally unavailabe to discuss this matter with. I asked the front desk clerk if he would call the hotel across the parking lot (which is also owned by the Wingate) to see If I could shower at that Facility, the clerk informed me that that was impossible since that hotel was fully booked, and no available room for me to use a shower. That was a total lie, because when I walked over to the front hotel that the Wingate also owned, the front desk clerk there readily gave me a key to a clean room to shower. The Wingate desk clerk did not have to lie to me. He could have easily called and located a room for me to use for an hour, but he choose not to.
If you do not care if you have water in your room when you want it, and if you like being lied to by the desk clerk, and you don't mind going to another facility to wash, this is the place for you. Other wise, I suggest you do not book a room at this facility. My 10% discount received for my complaint was so not worth it!.

Room Tip: book at another facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushis, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Thank you for your review. I first would like to apologize for the water being turned off in the hotel. It was a hotel-wide issue and we tried our very best to get it resolved as quickly and as efficiently as possible. Without getting too technical - a back flow pipe in our basement bursted. To prevent further damage we had no choice but to turn off the water while the pipe was being repaired. From start to finish - we were without water for about 2 hours. I understand the frustration of not having any water. We were able to make accommodations at our sister hotel located directly in front of The Wingate to allow guests to use their bathroom facilities in rooms set aside specifically for our guests.

I assure you that this was a very rare occurrence and has since been permanently fixed. I hope that you will give us another try next time you're in town.

Be Well,

Rushi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We reached the hotel with a confirm reservationa and were told they overbooked. With family of 2 children and looking forward to the graduation ceremony of my nephew we were dissapointed to hear this. We were given accomodation in another hotel so we had to take a trip there and inspite of promissing us the room we had asked for, they gave us the room with double bed instead of queen beds.
Overall-very poor service. Receptionist rude and feeling sorry

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hello05111969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushis, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Thanks for your review. I would like to apologize for the overbooking that took place on the day of your arrival. We try our very best to reach out to the guest prior to their arrival (via e-mail and/or telephone) to let them know of the overbooking and discuss alternate accommodations - whether it be a different room type or different hotel all-together. In your case the hotel was at capacity and so we could not accommodate. I'm sorry for this.

We did, however, make reservations for you and your family to stay at an Upscale Full-Service Hotel located just minutes away. We gladly picked up the bill and offered you to still come back to the hotel to use our complimentary amenities (fitness center, whirlpool spa, 24 hour business center and most importantly our free hot continental breakfast buffet).

We really did try our very best to make things right. I hope that you and your family ended up enjoying your stay there. Hope you'll give us another chance to serve you again in the future.

Be Well,

Rushi

Be Well,

Rushi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Very nice hotel, close to the highway, and food, and movie theater. Staff very nice and the rooms are clean and spacious, all for a very affordable price. I do recommend. 

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIGGUNNER845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushis, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
BigGunner845,

Thanks for the review! As they say, "LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION"!

Closest hotel off the NJ Turnpike and less than a mile from 1-295 North and South ramps makes us the obvious choice for overnight accommodations! (I may be a little partial) LOL

Be Well,

Rushi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Was here for two nights. Very comfortable, quiet, and clean. Bed was amazingly comfortable. Staff was great. Convenient to 295 and the Turnpike.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushis, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
The Serta pillow-top mattresses are the absolute best, aren't they?!

Be Well,

Rushi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colbert, GA
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed here for 2 days. We have no complaints at all with this hotel. The front desk person, Ann was more than accomodating to us, very friendly and always nice. The hotel itself, was spotless, very clean and beautiful! The price was reasonable. The bed was amazing! One the best beds we've ever slept on in a hotel. Beautiful hotel, inside and out. Very clean. Smelt good. Good services that they offer. Our room was cleaned and freshened up the second day. Nice and clean. Lots of things to do around the area. Our experience with the Wingate in Mount Laurel, NJ was one of the BEST experiences we've had with a hotel! We WILL be staying there when we return, and we will most definitely reccommend this hotel. Thanks to the people at the Wingate for such a nice experience and beautifully clean hotel! I highly reccommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnE2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushis, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Thanks so much for the awesome review! We look forward to seeing you next time you're in town.

Be Well,

Rushi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Laurel hotels
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Philadelphia - Mount Laurel
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mt. Laurel
Hyatt Place Mt. Laurel
#1 of 28 in Mount Laurel
509 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Philadelphia - Mt. Laurel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Mt. Laurel
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Philadelphia - Mt. Laurel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mt. Laurel
Hilton Garden Inn Mt. Laurel
#4 of 28 in Mount Laurel
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia
Address: 5000 Clover Rd, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054-5110 (Formerly Wingate By Wyndham Mt. Laurel/Philadelphia Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Mount Laurel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Mount Laurel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Mt. Laurel - Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Mount Laurel Hotel Mount Laurel
Wingate Mount Laurel
Wyndham Mount Laurel
Mount Laurel Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing