We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy little nest”
Review of The Robin's Nest

The Robin's Nest
Reserve with OpenTable
The Robin's Nest is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 56 Restaurants in Mount Holly
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: End of High Street and Mill Street
Transit: New Jersey Transit runs directly past the restaurant.
Description: The Robin's Nest is an independent restaurant devoted to customer service. You are invited for a delicious lunch, intimate dinner, relaxing Sunday brunch or evening cocktail. Our menu offers an eclectic mix of favorites with a French American flair. The eco-friendly restaurant uses the best available ingredients from local farms, featuring many vegetarian and gluten free dishes on the daily menu. Customers are always encouraged to share special food needs with the chef so that every dining experience is completely satisfying. The Robin's Nest Restaurant is uniquely situated in a beautifully restored Victorian building filled with antiques; and, located in the heart of downtown Mount Holly overlooking the Rancocas Creek. Inside the upstairs seats 60 with the downstairs offering several private dining rooms and an old fashioned bar. Warm weather brings with it the opening of the waterside bar and dining. The outdoor patio often offers live music and is always dog friendly.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cozy little nest”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We've enjoyed The Robin's Nest for years ~ brunch, lunch, dinner, special occasions, bakery ... LOVE the comfortable atmosphere in a classic old building dripping with charm, but without pretension. Indoor setting is quaint and cozy, and in the summer, the outdoor patio is a great place for drinks and a nice meal. Highly recommend the quiche and salad for brunch, but honestly, everything is good. It's the one place I enjoy dining alone as much as dining with my husband for a quiet date, or with a group of family and friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmcoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    45
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Generous portions and attentive staff”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Met two business contacts here for lunch. I ordered an open face brisket that was topped with cheese and delicious. There was enough meat for two servings! The staff are outstanding. Very attentive. Parking is a little tricky. The lot is a bit of a walk and you have to know where it is to find it, but overall this is a nice little spot.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pnelson406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, CT, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK food / service good”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The atmosphere was nice and the salads were the best part of the meal.
I had the lime and my wife had the goat cheese - the greens were fresh and the dressing tasty (served on the side)
My wife had the pork chop and I the filet.
Both cuts were good size but not the quality we would expect given the price.
Other entrees may be better??/
Solomon (our server) was attentive and helpful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin W. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey W, Public Relations Manager at The Robin's Nest, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
We want to thank you for coming to our restaurant; and, we are certainly pleased that you enjoyed the service and some of your meal. However, we aim for you to thoroughly enjoy all of your meal. So we deeply apologize that you weren't satisfied with your entrees. We have a long standing relationship with the vendor that supplies our meats and we have discussed this issue with them. We hope that you might consider coming back and giving us another try and if you would, we would like to send you a gift card compliments of The Robin's Nest. Just email us your name & address at info@RobinsNestMountHolly.com. Thank you for your constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Springs, NJ
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cozy & Romantic, and the Food Was Great”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Went here last night with a group from work to celebrate a birthday. I have been to The Robin's Nest before, but not for about 5 years and I was glad to have a chance to go back. The place is utterly charming, cozy and romantic with an ecclectic Victorian decor. When you walk in, you are in the reception/bakery area and the homemade dessert case holds a vast array of tempting treats. We were seated in the bar area and once again I must use the word "cozy" to describe the atmosphere. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. The only fault to the evening was the fact that the menu is printed in very small type and the room we were in was dark, which made reading the menu difficult. We all were using the flashlight ap on our cell phones in order to read the teeny tiny type. Our dinners, however, were absolutely delicious! Two of us had the chicken breast with honey pecan crust served with a cranberry cream sauce. The dish was served over rice with a nicely done mixed veggie side. The others in our group loved their pumpkin ravioli and the broiled salmon with a maple/soy glaze. We quickly cleaned out the basket of yummy homemade rolls and our waitress quickly refilled it. None of us had room for dessert, which is a shame since they all looked and sounded wonderful, but they did bring us a complimentary slice of a rich, dark chocolate torte to share in honor of the birthday we were celebrating. I can't wait to go back again. I enjoyed my trip to The Robin's Nest so much! TIP: There is no parking at the restaurant; follow the signs to the parking lot which is about a half block, and an easy walk, away.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hildy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry hill
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ambience10, food 2”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Again --major disappointment. Third time lousy food. I keep hoping for a tasty meal because the decor is great, kitschy Victoriana, and they have amazing desserts, many selections of pies and cakes. Their soups are good. So far... Quiche too dense, not rich and creamy, featured turkey escarole gumbo soup was a turkey chili made into a soup, no trace of escarole. The turkey panini had Los of good turkey, but barely a trace of the cheese, apple or fruit spread. Dreadful coffee.
So.... Go ONLY for tea and dessert

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artist8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey W, Public Relations Manager at The Robin's Nest, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We deeply apologize that you have been repeatedly disappointed in our food. We recognize that each customer has their own tastes; and, apparently our recipes aren't a good match for your tastes. We try our best to serve food that appeals to a wide variety of diners but sometimes we fall short. So again, please accept our apologies. On the bright side we're happy that you liked the desserts. Should you ever be willing to give us another try, please email us at info@RobinsNestMountHolly.com so we can send you a gift card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Robin's Nest also viewed

 

Been to The Robin's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing