We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible place”
Review of Pub 199

Pub 199
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Wanaque, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible place”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you like stuffed animals that were killed on hunting trips watching you eat then you will feel right at home here. I am not against a deer head or two but this was like being in a hunters hording home. Creepy.
The food was horrible. If you like a lot for a low price and you don't care about quality, then this is the place for you. I found it was a very limited menu. Out of the 6 entrees everything came with steamed clams.
I went with a sandwich instead. The chicken looked and tasted like it was a fried cutlet from the school cafeteria.
Our drinks came out in solo cups in various sizes.
I go out to eat alot and this was one of the worst places I have ever been too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ampWanaque_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    104
    54
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“"Good Old Folks"”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

What a pleasure to find Pub 199, filled with good folk, so close to the City. The place was packed and I know why. Great service, great food, great prices and no frills! I will go back again and again

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lots of FOOD!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Look if you are looking to veer off the menu this is not for you. Do you like clams? Two dozen steamers counts to around 30. Lobster can be full or light on the meat. The King Crab legs are excellent. The steak and clams has a reasonable steak with the large order of steamers for a small price. Do not ask for water, bread or anything else they do not give you automatically. They are stubborn but good at what they do.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diplomatok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pub 199 Whoot Whoot”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Clams, King Crab Legs, Lobster was great and at a very fair price.
Ate there 3 nights in a row, loved it.
Will certainly come back again

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sgalligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magicredscarf
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great price. Creepy animals.”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a great place to eat when you don't require any frills or fanciness. the food is very good. It's cash only, what a disappointment, but they service reasonable food very quickly.

Biggiest problem I have is owner is an avid hunter. There are about 100 stuffed animals there. I'm not talking teddy bears. A little creepy, and over done.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank magicredscarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pub 199 also viewed

 
Mount Arlington, Morris County
 

Been to Pub 199? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing