We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay for 7 days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I am surprised by the poor to low reviews, We have stayed here many times up to a week at a time and have found the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington to be a wonderful experience from the moment of check in to the time we checked out.

We feel that a complete review would help many travelers stay here s we are going to give you a detailed description. As you walk into the lobby you are greeted with apples & cookies with a complimentary USA Today Paper. The chandelier and lobby decor is exquisite and we have had more problems at the Waldorf Astoria NYC. We were promptly greeted and our room keys were perfect. The check in process is both efficient, prompt, and courteous.

All questions were answered and the hotel had several recommendations of area restaurants even though they hotel serves a nice early hotel dinner brought in by a local restaurant. I live in the area and this was a temporary stay, but the hotel staff were friendly, courteous, kind, and helpful in receiving and transmitting faxes until new housing could be arranged at a fair price and never once was one person discourteous.

The room was perfection the bedding is superb and it is soft, clean, down filled feeling, plenty of pillows, a pull out couch with bedding, and extra towels. The cleanliness was 100% in the entire facility, The room layout is perfect with a sitting area and a sleeping area where one could host family and friends without it feeling as if you are in a hotel room. The air conditioning was working 100% and I have stayed in the front and in the back and had no problem with my blinds keeping the sunshine out.

The shower and bathroom area was well stocked and when requested extra towels were brought when needed. There is a microwave and refridgerator in every room. The King Jacuzzi and Fireplace rooms are decked out for a romantic evening as we were allowed to view one by the night manager.

This hotel gave access to computers, a small gym, and a nice sauna and hot tub, when we did not know how to make it work a staff person called and had a person fix it immediately. Yes you do have to cross the breakfast area, but if you are covered with a swim wear wrap as one would properly be at any hotel with sandals or flip flops this should not be an issue.

The sauna area is curtained off so know one is viewing your sauna or jacuzzi enjoyment.

We made popcorn in our room with the microwave, rented movies, and enjoyed having our family visit together in the evenings after the complimentary dinner. If you choose not to have the complimentary dinner there are many dining choices even within walking distance which would include Crackerbarrel, Dunkin Donuts, Wingman, & Davy Dogs Plus extensive dining experiences from $-$$$$ locally. The Rockaway Mall is minutes away on Route 80 & the train to NYC is 2 traffic lights away. If you want the access to a pool you can drive to the Hackettstown Pool on Route 80 which is 20 minutes from the hotel for a nominal day rate fee.

We know different people have different experiences, but being seasoned travelers throughout the USA & other countries this hotel gives you everything you need also a refrigerator where you can bring your own beverages and keep them cool. Yes, I have done the same as people above and did not check the setting, but most important was the refrigerator was clean to perfection. The food station area of the room was stocked and clean.

Breakfast was excellent with both hot & cold items eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, a GREAT pancake maker, coffee, tea, a variety of juices, bagels, muffins, breads, and more. Breakfast changes daily, but there is plenty of healthy choices, plus this is not a continental breakfast with all carbs, plenty of protein options. If you want more variety for more money stop in at The Crackerbarrel for their meals. We did both depending on each days schedule.

Also the handicap rooms are a dream for anyone with a disability as you can safely get around for all your daily and nightly needs. I found this hotel to be a great comfort in a very difficult part of my life, a true haven, for both myself, my Mom & my children. The hotel even allowed my children to have their friends visit as this was a very stressful time as we were transitioning to a new life without a place to live or stay due to multiple reasons.

The hotel staff worked with us on anything we asked and not once did they tell us "No". Every possible accommodation was made to make all of us comfortable, to not disrupt my children's lives, and to re-locate our family. If we needed a fax sent at 10 p.m. the front desk did it, without any problems, if we needed anything it was provided without hesitation.

Honestly, I have stayed in over 20 hotels in New Jersey, 10 in NYC, and many Bed & Breakfasts plus traveled internationally. Our experience here made us feel like we had a temporary home until we could secure a new place to live and without the help of the staff, housekeeping, and management this would not have happened. If you give the Holiday Inn Express an opportunity and remember that in today's economy one must have a bit of patience with smaller staffing you can have a wonderful, economic, and a great place to stay. Ask about Triple AAA discounts or military discounts also. This hotel will work with you and you will receive more than any other hotel in Mt. Arlington and we have stayed at both. Yes, it is missing the pool which we know families love, but for all the extra's this hotel provides it is worth giving it a chance.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suite is gorgeous and the rooms with the sitting areas are perfect. All photo's on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyLynn1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your GREAT! review Our staff works very hard to make sure our guests have a wonderful experience...in their travels.Comfort, cleanliness,service and a big Smile . we hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Linda Dora
director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 226 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked this hotel because the chain and location we normally use when we travel to Parsippany, NJ was too high priced for our stay. We have stayed here a couple of times previously and have found nothing major wrong with it.

The internet access code changed during our stay and we were not advised of this. We were able to figure out that by going up one number on the access code we could get the wifi to work. However, we had to constantly re-log in to the internet each day; not so at other hotels.

During the week they have a reception, however; we were not at the hotel during the time (early evening) to experience this; we were visiting relatives and really only were at the hotel to sleep.

Speaking of sleep, the pillows were uncomfortable and the duvet (triple sheeted bedding) was very heavy and cumbersome and too hot to use. We took it off the bed and used the little colorful accent throw as a "blanket" which was enough.

The breakfast area was clean and food items adequate and replenished on a timely basis. There is a spa off the breakfast area -- so people wanting to use the spa (and there were people using it during the breakfast time) had to walk through the breakfast area to get to the spa. There were hot and cold cereal, fruit, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, pancakes, hot food selections such as omelets, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, juices, coffee, tea, etc. Very typical breakfast for this chain.

We received a USA Today newspaper one morning out of our 4 night stay -- but we did not miss it the other days because we don't read it.

The AC unit in our room, 210, did not seem to work well as the room temperature never dropped below 74. We were not there much during the day and the air flow was adequate for our evening and night times.

The fridge was turned up to high but we did not notice that when we put a few bottles of water and some fruit in it -- so we had extra "ice". Memo to self -- check fridge setting before putting things in. It was good to see that it did work though!

This hotel has several nice restaurants within walking distance (Wingman for chicken wings, Cracker Barrel, Davey's Hot Dogs -- a great place! Other restaurants are easily accessed by car.)

Our stay wasn't horrible, would we stay there again if we needed to -- yes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingAimlessly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear RoamingAimlessly,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations, and I apologize you were not satisfied with the room conditions. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. I want to assure you that the issues you have raised about the internet connection and the AC unit will be addressed and appropriate actions will be taken. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Everything was just fine. We travel extensively for business and will stay here again when we return to this job site later this month. I really liked four king-sized pillows (two firm, two soft), a nice change from a lot of little ones. Bath towels were great although we found the rain-style shower head a little anemic. Lots of counter space in bathroom, always a plus. Room included micro-fridge and coffee service. Hallways are airy and bright, cleaning staff professional and efficient. The desk staff was just a little aloof for my tastes (we're used to big smiles and audible greetings). The manager hosts a reception Mon-Thurs with complimentary beverages and appetizers, FYI (we never made it back in time to attend). Breakfast is very good. One weird thing is that that fitness room is adjacent to the dining area; anyone using it is in full view of anyone at breakfast. No pool but lovely sauna and whirlpool. Close to train station and shopping/dining.

Room Tip: Back rooms are against wooded area and as hotel sits back across a parking lot from the highway, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay will our hotel ,we work very hard to make our guests feel at home. We apologise for any inconvenience as we are training a new front desk person, and i will make sure they SMILE and greet guests as they should .

Regards
Linda Dora
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We picked this place because of the convenience to the venue we were using. The look of the room was fine with 2 queen beds, a pull out sofa and nice size bathroom. However, the smell in the room was awful. The prior guests must have burned popcorn in the microwave and that smell just hung in the room. I can't believe the hotel staff didn't smell it when they cleaned the room and put it right. Also on the bathroom floor were hairs that did not match the color or length of either one of us. A better cleaning job was definitely needed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattir225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

We are very sorry for any inconvenience with your stay with us, our Staff workes very hard to make sure our guests are very comfortable. We are looking into this matter to making sure this never happends again.

Again Please except our sincerest aploogies

Linda Dora
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I found my stay pleasant and surprising. The room was comfortable, clean and well appointed. I also found the plaza area there very busy with bears. Each evening there would be bears climbing in and around the bear trap near adjacent property. The parks department maintaining the traps during my 2 night stay and trapped, tranquilized, tagged and removed at least 4 bears for relocation during my stay. With one bear in the trap in the evening, there were 4 or more bears waling around and climbing on trap to try and help the trapped bear. It was fascinating watching their behavior from a safe distance. I would like to come back to this hotel for both the quality of the hotel and for bear watching.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, The Parks department is a great help in relocating the bear, they have never been a problem and we do not see them to offen, but being in the country they live here too. Hope you will come and stay with us again.

Regards
Linda Dora
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This started out as a wonderful weekend getaway. Pretty nice room, king suite with big jacuzzi and fireplace was wonderful. Food places in walking distance to the hotel. The evening was great and the staff was friendly, until the morning of when we woke up with ants crawling all over our bed side tables and all over us. If there is anything that grosses me out more than anything it's bugs!!! What we hoped for a nice relaxing late morning turned into a very early morning leave. The staff was very friendly and refunded $30... However it seemed as though it was a common occurance .ew ants .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

I am sorry for your inconvenience. We take proud in our hotel and accommodate our guest to the fullest extent.I assure you that this is something we take very seriouly and will continue to be on top of this issue

Warm Regards
Linda L Dora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel for five nights. It is well located, incredibly clean, well run and comfortable. The morning breakfast is better than average for this type of a facility. It is half the price of the Courtyard by Marriott on the opposite side of the street and as such, is a great value. The staff is helpful and quite friendly. Overall, this is a great place to camp out if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank costaricajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay it means all our hard work pay off....thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon..

Regards
Linda L Dora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Arlington
4 mi away
Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Rockaway-Mt. Arlington
Courtyard Rockaway-Mt. Arlington
#2 of 2 in Mount Arlington
279 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Budd Lake-Rockaway Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway
13 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
7 mi away
Hampton Inn Denville / Rockaway / Parsippany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area

Address: 176 Howard Blvd, Mount Arlington, NJ 07856-1308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Mount Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Arlington
Price Range: $105 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt. Arlington, New Jersey is located in the hub of Morris County and conveniently located at exit 30 off Interstate 80 near Rockaway & Parsippany NJ. The Holiday Inn Express Mount Arlington is ideal for your travel needs whether for business or pleasure. Each of our guest suites features include free high-speed Internet and free local phone calls. Take advantage of our 24-hour business center then unwind in our soothing hot tub or relax in the sauna. Or just workout in our fitness room after a long day. Start the day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast including our signature cinnamon buns. Our meeting space and outstanding service makes the Holiday Inn Express Mt. Arlington's meeting center perfect for hosting that special event or business meeting. Whether your visiting Mt. Arlington, New Jersey to shop at the International Trade Zone or relaxing at Lake Hopatcong, the largest lake in New Jersey or visiting some of our local companies like BASF, M&M Mars, Lucent, Siemens or Rudolph Technologies the Holiday Inn Express will meet whatever your needs are. Stay Smart. Stay at the Holiday Inn Express when you visit Mt. Arlington, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Mt. Arlington
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Mt. Arlington Hotel Mount Arlington
Holiday Inn Mount Arlington
Mount Arlington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing