We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of TABOR ROAD Tavern

TABOR ROAD Tavern
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food. Good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Tabor Road offers a good menu selection and a few daily specials. The scallops were grilled nicely and the sides were great.
The portion was small for the price paid.
Noisy on the night I was there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnG229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    139
    44
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent! One of our favorites.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Great food, attentively served. A nice-night-out place, for sure. Big open room in the center, and some quieter spots off to the sides if you like. The chefs are creative, though not ground-breaking. There's definitely something for everyone. White tablecloth service from well-trained staff. Tabor Rd. is a destination for us for nice nights out or birthday dinners. Highly recommend. They own several other places that are also very good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My go-to when I want a great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Been going to Tabor Road Tavern since it opened. The ambiance is great, like a rustic lodge, but refined. The food is always fantastic. A bit pricey, but worth it. More times then not I order off of the specials menu. They do a great job keeping the menu new and current with the specials. Must haves are the Filet Mignon tips appetizer and Tasso Mac and Cheese side dish. They also have an extensive wine and beer list. The staff is attentive and friendly. Try it, you won't be dissapointed.

Helpful?
Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
“New look to an upsacale tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

A real happening hot spot for those that want excellent food in an upsacle tavern enviornment. THe food is moderately priced and the atmosphere offers an intimate dinning experience. From the fireplace that is in the center of the room and offers a view from all sides, to the staff who treat you as if you are the only table in the room. Quite the place to take a loved one or a client you wish to impress. Enjoy it I did!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Walter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hit or miss...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I've been here several times, but my experiences have been hit or miss. Overall, the atmosphere is nice and the food quality is fairly good, although pricey.

It's clear that they have trained their wait staff to "up-sell" the patrons. From extra sides to the more expensive meal, the wait staff pushes it. The last time I was there, the waiter (who couldn't have been older than early 20's and had huge holes in his ears from gauge earings) tried to convince me of the quality of an $85 bottle of wine. It just happened to be the most expensive bottle of wine on the menu at the time. He did the same with the specials. The up-sell is obvious and annoying at best, and borders on insulting.

I hope the management reviews their approach. Until they do, I probably won't be back unless it's for a business dinner for which I did not chose the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Msmom95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TABOR ROAD Tavern also viewed

Morris Plains, Morris County
Cedar Knolls, Morris County
 
Morris Plains, Morris County
Mountain Lakes, Morris County
 
Morris Plains, Morris County
 

Been to TABOR ROAD Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing