We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under construction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Parsippany - Morris Plains
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morris Plains
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I typically like Candlewood suites. This one is under construction. The TV in my room didn't even work. There was plastic on the floors throughout the hotel. Things were generally a mess. Not sure how long before construction will be done. Required to sign a document saying I would not be excessively messy in the room or I would need to pay a fine of $250. I've never seen any hotel have this type of document before.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimmJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 103 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2011

While this hotel is not the HIlton or the Marriott it is an excellent value and the staff cannot be beat. I've been here for six months now. I spent the first three weeks at a local competitor and moved here after becoming frustrated with washers and dryers always out of service.

This hotel attracts primarily the long term stayer and while you will find a nicely equipped kitchen in your room you will not find a hotel restaurant or bar. The things I like about this place are the free washers and dryers which almost always are working, the Candlewood Cupboard it you have the munchies or just need a soda and the friendly, cheerful and professional staff.

The hotel is working on a complete renovation and I'm excited to see the outcome, especially since I plan to continue to stay here another 6 months. Noise proofing is not the greatest but I haven't had any problems with noisy neighbors.

I would strongly recommend you give this hotel an opportunity if you are in the market for medium to long term stay.

Room Tip: Look for an end room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Recently stayed here for 2 nights while in the area on business, it could have been a lot better.

After arriving at the hotel around 8pm I found the "dial 0 on the lobby phone to contact a representative" sign on the counter. I understand this practice for late night check-ins but thought this was a little unnecessary at a fairly common check in time. Then, had to wait 10 minutes for a representative to come to the counter. As a Priority Club member you become accustomed to certain perks: a gift bag, a snack, a bottle of water, etc. Now I know not all hotels will offer this, but in this case there was a wheel that you could spin to get a free item out of the pantry - a chance at that was not offered to me. I know this sounds nit-picky, but I am a very loyal IGH customer and deserve the best service possible.

So after the check in was the dimly lit walk to my room. The hallways were very dark and frankly, dirty. When I got to my room its the normal suite, everything looked ok....until I got to the bathroom. The bathroom floor tiles were cracked and loose while the bathtub was stained and the showerhead had mineral buildup and looked very old.

One thing I do like about the Candlewood Suites is the pantry. It is always a convenient place (albeit overpriced) to pick up a bottle of water or a snack for those who don't want to leave the hotel. But this was also found to be disappointing. The selection wasn't very well stocked and lacked organization.

Now, all of this could have been acceptable if the price was right, but at over $100/night to me, all of this is unacceptable. I did see signs that the hotel was going to be going through renovations in the near future - around 12/8 or so if I remember correctly but that is no excuse for general cleaning/housekeeping services to go overlooked.

Unless the price is right, I'd wait until the renovations are complete to book a stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkno728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Suitable for long stays around Parsippany Morris Plains area

Positives
Offers good value for money on price, bookings over 30 days come with good discount
For IT professionals travelling from India, you will find yourself company
Bed and Bathroom are neat and comfortable with all necessary equipments
Internet is not too bad
Cleaning is once per week
Staff is generally helpful but not necessarily polite
Complimentary shuttle service to offices around the hotel, and once a week to the Indian grocery store. Helps save on the cab fare

Negatives
Accesible by Route 10, but except for a gas station, there is no other place one can walk to for restaraunts or shopping. The Kohl's center is about 15-20minutes away walking, can be accessed during summer but not in winer
Internet could be faster
More TV and entertainment options
No restaraunt in the hotel

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brijesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Service and the attitude of the staff is one the most important aspects of any hotel stay to me and In that respect this place is great. I find myself again having to say again that it is not the Hilton, If you can afford the Hilton go there. I wouldn't because they don't have smoking rooms. Once in a while I go to a nice Hotel looking for some peace and quiet and this hotel is tucked away and surrounded by stands of trees, with the windows closed it was pretty and quiet. Do not complain about highway noise in New Jersey, there is virtually no place to get away from it. Everything in the room worked, I was very comfortable and felt very secure.

Room Tip: The smoking rooms are on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truthjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Pluses: Cheap, located on NJ 10, a main commuter artery. Ample parking. Dogs allowed and welcomed for minimal fee, including larger dogs...rare in the industry.

Minuses: Checkin was horrible. They weren't even prepared with paperwork, and I reserved a week before. Time lost: 20 minutes.
Rooms are not quiet. This hotel is a wood frame construction, you hear everything above, below, and on both sides. Most rooms adjoin, so you get the added benefit of cooking smells and late night noise from the neighbors. No thanks.

Internet: slow, varies with time of day.

Cable channels: surprisingly good variety, but with a 90's era television and DVD, no HDTV here.

Decent cleanliness, but my bathroom needed retiling...loose tiles are a safety hazard and should never be tolerable. Bed linens were clean, and towels were fluffier than I expected.

In-room kitchenette was poorly equipped (no bottle opener, a basic) but the microwave and fridge were handy.

This hotel caters to families in transition from rental or home, and the budget traveler. I thought I'd try it out, but I'll be scaling up for my next visit to this area. There are alternatives.

Overall, I never expect much from IHC properties. They are inconsistent, and vary with the licensee. The property is probably spot on for the price point, but not my preferred.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_wahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

This is an extended stay place, somewhat geared towards business travelers staying a week or more, so it may not be for everyone. It doesn't have a swimming pool or restaurant on site or some of those other features of 3 star and higher hotels, but that didn't bother us.

For us it was everything we could hope for. It is tucked away in a quiet location. It was very clean. It has a small kitchenette, fridge & mircrowave so we were able to heat up our own dinner and save $$. Bed was comfy. They had a place to buy snacks, breakfast or microwave meals.

Our only complaint was the lack of a free continental breakfast that so many other hotels offer, but since this is an extended-stay place, that might explain why it's not offered. Also, if you need two beds this may not be the place for you. No rooms had two beds, except for a suite (with pull-out sofa).

All-in-all it was a pleasant, but brief stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterPiper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morris Plains
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Parsippany/North
5.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Parsippany
Red Roof Inn Parsippany
#11 of 16 in Parsippany
319 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Parsippany
Hampton Inn Parsippany
#4 of 16 in Parsippany
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Parsippany
Days Inn Parsippany
#10 of 16 in Parsippany
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Parsippany
Residence Inn Parsippany
#13 of 16 in Parsippany
120 reviews
4.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hanover - Parsippany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Parsippany - Morris Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Parsippany - Morris Plains

Address: 100 Candlewood Dr, Morris Plains, NJ 07950-2665
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morris Plains
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morris Plains
Price Range: $93 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Parsippany - Morris Plains 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Morris Plains Hotel is one of the most conveniently located all suites hotels in the heart of the business district of Morris County. Located near Morristown, Parsippany and East Hanover, we are close to all major highways such as the New Jersey Parkway, RT. 80, RT. 287 and RT. 10. If New York City is your destination, the hotel is conveniently located 2 miles from the train station which will take you directly to midtown Manhattan. All of our suites include fully equipped kitchen with full size refrigerator, microwave & stove tops. Color TV, 2 phone lines, free high speed Internet access, free local shuttle service, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, DVD/VCR and CD Player. Complimentary parking, complimentary local and 800 calls, free use of our well equipped fitness room and complimentary use of washers and dryers. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the New Jersey/New York City area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Candlewood Suites Parsippany - Morris Plains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Parsippany - Morris Plains Hotel Morris Plains
Candlewood Suites Morris Plains
Candlewood Morris Plains
Morris Plains Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing