We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”
Review of Courtyard Montvale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Montvale
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montvale
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed over night for a family wedding.. Room was nice and spacious.. Very clean! Walls were paper thin could hear the people in the next room fighting.. That was annoying! The Fire and Oak bar was nice my husband spent a lot of money and the bartender never bought back a drink.. Annoying! And we went back to the room to change on out way back to the bar we saw a roach on the wall by the elevator.. Which I went to the front desk to let them no but they didn't say much!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medipaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We hope that you enjoyed your wedding that you were here for and got to catch up with your family and friends. Fire & Oak is a great addition to our hotel and is a great fusion of east and west cuisine and is popular with our regulars as well as guests visiting the area for the first time. We do apologize for the noise for the other room, we do have quiet hours from 10 p.m. to 8 a.m. that we do enforce so that our guests get a great night's rest. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    91
    44
    18
    10
See reviews for
59
43
9
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
266 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We came in for a party and stayed over a Saturday night. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean, the amenities were good, the bed very comfortable, the HVAC easy to use and quiet, the shower (no tub) spacious and there was abundant hot water. Check-in was gracious, check-out was done automatically overnight with a receipt under the door. Plenty of free and easily accessed parking, and the senior rate was only $103 plus tax. (The hosts of the party had arranged a group rate which was $119, which we had reserved. When I saw the senior rate online I called the 800 number and asked for that rate which was given without any fuss.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vpoleshuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay as well as the party you attended. We are lucky to have such ample parking as well as a great location right off of the Garden State Parkway. I have personally passed the message along to the front desk and the housekeeping staff regarding your comments. We love hearing feedback from our guests. Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for the weekend of our daughter's wedding. We had been working with the event manager, Tracey, who we found to be kind and efficient. The vans that she arranged for us were prompt and polite. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. All our requests were promptly tended to; the front desk could not have been more attentive to our needs. I would highly recommend this hotel . The suite was extremely large and upscale. It suited our needs extremely well.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have beautiful terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifthd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your daughter's wedding. It is sure a special time and we are so glad we could be a part of the joyous experience. We have passed your comments on to Tracey. We are very lucky to have her as she is a great member of our team. Once again, thank you and if you find yourself in the area, we would love to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanoka Harbor
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here recently for a wedding that my husband was in. The hotel itself was lovely. The room was spacious and the staff was very polite. There were some hairs in the shower, so it wasn't as clean as it could have been. There was a refrigerator in the room, but no microwave. We were there about two weeks after Labor Day and assumed that the pool would still be open since it was 75 degrees out. However, we were informed that the pool gets closed after Labor Day weekend. That was very disappointing. The bed was very comfortable, supportive, but soft. We had a small issue with our toilet that would not stop running and the front desk sent someone out right away who fixed it very quickly. All of this was absolutely fine. The part of the stay that was VERY disappointing was the breakfast. They offer two options: a continental breakfast for about $10 a person and a "full" hot breakfast for about $13 a person. We chose the full hot breakfast. It was SO NOT WORTH IT. We had to wrangle the cook staff in order to get a waffle and omelette. The continental section was very limited. The bell on the waffle maker didn't work, so mine was burnt. Save your money on breakfast and grab some Dunkin' Donuts from down the street. The rest of the hotel was very nice and we would go back, and just eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our front desk staff. Their goal is to make sure you are completely satisfied. Our weather has been a little bit warmer than normal, however our pool does close every year on Labor Day. We wanted to also apologize about your breakfast experience. Our goal is for you to have a most enjoyable meal with your family. We will look into what happened to make sure they do not happen again. Hopefully if you find yourself in the area, your choice will be the Courtyard Montvale. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My check-in to this hotel was horrible and full of problems. The front desk girl was extremely rude the manager however did refund my stay due to my problems which was much appreciated. This courtyard used to be a holiday inn so it is not set up like a normal courtyard which I found too be a good change since I stay at a lot of courtyards. It was much bigger and had banquet rooms. The room was nicely decorated and of good size. I had to deal with the desk staff a few other times thru my stay due to extending for extra days and each time they were very short and quite rude. Could really use some customer service training. There was a pool table in the basement which we enjoyed. There was also a laundry room but it was extremely high priced! Due to the customer service issues I encountered here I probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0adtripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, General Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear R0adtripping,

Thank you for you feed back. We are sorry to hear that your experience with our Front Desk Team did not meet your expectation. We are dedicated in providing quality service that meet if not exceed our guest's standards. We apologize that we have failed on delivering this to you. Please be assured that we are reviewing our process with our Front Desk team and we hope that you give us an opportunity to make this up to you by trying us again whenever you are in the area.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we're doing.

Warm regards,



Cecilia Kuhlman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Small but functional hotel. Rooms are of a good size and clean. Very quiet location so you'll get a good nights sleep. The 'Irish' bar in the hotel is actually run by a chinese man but it has a good atmosphere. I woulnd't recommend the Guiness but I've been spoilt on my trips to Ireland! Food is very good in the bar. My only complaint is the cost of printing, USD $1 per page. I know that now having printed a 417 page document...... Lesson learned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PShynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear PSyhnn,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your stay experience. We at the Courtyard by Marriott in Montvale, NJ has the Fire & Oak restaurant on site and provide printing for our guests as well. Whenever, we are printing over 20 pages, additional cost may apply. Your stay however, is with another one of our Marriott properties in Park Ridge, NJ. We're happy to know that our rooms meet our brand standard of cleanliness.

We hope you can try us at the Courtyard by Marriott in Montvale, NJ whenever you are in the area. We would love to have you stay with us.

Warm regards,



Cecilia Kuhlman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is in a quite area with not much around it. However, the location is in close proximity to New York about 40 min. and about 30 min. away from the largest outlet mall in US - Woodberry Commons! The hotel is on a small size but the rooms are a good size, clean with HD TVs. The staff was friendly and accommodating (I asked them to change the room type and they quickly arranged it with no extra charge) I also enjoyed the restaurant in the hotel "Fire & Oak" they have a very culturally diverse menu with some Italian, American, Japanese dishes, I had their risotto scallops and they were delicious although a very large portion. The only negative comment is, we had a bug in our room, maybe because our room was on a ground floor but nevertheless unpleasant.

Room Tip: try to get rooms above the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evgenia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, General Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Evgenia,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay and your experience at the Courtyard by Marriott in Montvale, NJ. We are glad to be of service and appreciate you letting us know our oppotunities for improvement. Our Maintenance team is looking into the bug issue that you experienced and will make sure that we look into getting this resolved.

We thank you for staying with us and we hope that we remain to be your preferred host whenever you are in the area.

Best regards,



Cecilia Kuhlman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montvale
0.9 mi away
Park Ridge Marriott
Park Ridge Marriott
#1 of 1 in Park Ridge
358 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Woodcliff Lake
Hilton Woodcliff Lake
#1 of 1 in Woodcliff Lake
696 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Pearl River
Hilton Pearl River
#1 of 1 in Pearl River
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Saddle River
Residence Inn Saddle River
#1 of 1 in Saddle River
162 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Nanuet
Hampton Inn Nanuet
#2 of 5 in Nanuet
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Montvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Montvale

Property: Courtyard Montvale
Address: 100 Chestnut Ridge Rd, Montvale, NJ 07645-1803 (Formerly "Holiday Inn")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Montvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Montvale 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated hotel from the ground up. A very unique and contemporary courtyard with a signature restaurant, "Fire & Oak." We offer complimentary high speed Wi-fi in all guest rooms and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Montvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hotel Montvale
Montvale Marriott
Montvale Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing