We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Courtyard Montvale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Montvale
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montvale
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

A very nice, well-managed property. We were welcomed and efficiently checked in by a friendly front desk staff. Our room was clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed.

Breakfast was quite good and the wait staff was helpful. The adjoining restaurant looked quite nice, although we were booked elsewhere and did not try it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidjx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, General Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Davidjx,
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am delighted your experience was a pleasant one. Hopefully the next time you visit us you will be able to take your family to Fire & Oak. Our American Grill has a very unique ambiance and you will find the food quality to be excellent and the pricing to be extremely reasonable.

Thank you for choosing Marriott,
Sincerely,

Paul Viapiano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    91
    44
    18
    10
See reviews for
56
43
9
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dove Canyon California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

M husband would like me to tell you about his stay. After flying from the West Coast he entered his room to find white powder all over his bathroom( ajax is what I am thinking) He called and no one ever came to clean it. It was still there all over the bathroom the next day after the maids had been there. The noise in the hallways was very loud. No rest what so ever. He is a platinum member, been with Marriott for 22 years and we have never written a negative comment. He works hard, does not like being away from his family. He deserves better than this. I rely on Marriott to "take care" of my husband! This time they failed....

Room Tip: no suggestions...sorry....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiemom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, General Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Maggiemom4,
It is our goal at Marriott to ensure every guest has a great experience when they stay with us. I am so sorry to hear your husband's visit did not live up to epectations. We staff a manager on duty at all times to ensure every guest receives the service they expect. We would love to hear from him directly so we can address the situation and win back his loyalty as a Platinum member.

Sincerely,
Paul Viapiano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard in Montvale in early March as we were in the area for soccer games and loved it! The sales staff was very helpful in booking rooms for a large group. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The lobby area was very spacious and we enjoyed our visit to the small bar area just off the lobby. The hotel had a more luxurious feel to it than a typical Courtyard. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked the hotel for a return trip in April. Overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, General Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Lori D,
Thank you so much for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott in Montvale. As you experienced we are much more than just a typical Courtyard. With our third party restaurant "Fire & Oak" serving dinner and providing in-room dinner delivery, we have all the conveniences a full service hotel for those looking to stay on a Courtyard budget.

We Look forward to welcoming you back in April.

Sincerely,
Paul Viapiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our one night stay was great from checking until checkout. The front desk staff were very welcoming and gave us suggestions for our dinner out with menus to keep. We took thei suggestion and had a delicious dinner at Davincis down the road. Our room was very clean...I always do a bug check when we stay at a hotel which can turn up some serious dust bunnies or worse but nothing here, this room was probably the cleanest room we have stayed in. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were quiet. I did think that the bathroom doors with the glass was a bit different, not a problem for us but could be if two people that aren't related are staying in the same room...not sure if these doors are in every room. We wished that it was warmer out so we could have enjoyed the pool. A fantastic hotel that we will stay at again if in the M
Area again.

Room Tip: See if the have a room without glass on the bathroom doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, General Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear justily,
We truly appreciate your feedback and have even more great suggestions for local restaurants that you can try out when you return to the area. Hopefully the weather will be warmer and we can recommend some outdoor dining options. If you return around Memorial Day or anytime over the summer, you can take advantage of our refreshing outdoor pool.

Sincerely,
Paul Viapiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Marriott in Montvale is super clean, has very nice rooms, and a sweet staff! I also liked that there was a bar/restaurant adjoining the hotel - felt upscale. Bathrooms were nice & clean too! Staff was friendly and helpful and the atrium/foyer when you walk in is so pretty & welcoming!

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter the room, everything was super clean which is my #1 marker for a good hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, General Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Tracy O,
Thank you so much for chosing the Courtyard by Marriott in Montvale. We truly appreciate your feedback. I will be sure to pass on your comments to my team. They will be happy to hear that their efforts are truly being recognized by our guests.

Sincerely,
Paul Viapiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott in Montvale for 4 nights in February with my family and was very happy with our choice to stay here. The rooms are quiet, comfortable and clean. Additionally the service provided at the hotel was great. Our first room had an issue with the heater, maintenance arrived within minutes of our call and quickly assessed that the room was not acceptable and moved us across the hall. On our last night at the Hotel we needed plates and utensils for a birthday cake that we brought into the hotel. Again, within minutes the building manager was there with plates and silverware, then arrived later to take the remainder of the ice cream cake to the trash as it would have melted in the rooms mini-fridge. The on-site restaurant is very nice, and provides room service. I highly recommend this hotel for those working in Montvale or driving through.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated shower room (or bathtub if traveling with young children)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Purcells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, General Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Oinkeater,
Thank you for the great comments. We are very happy you enjoyed our hotel. We pride ourselves on being more than just an average Courtyard. With our very unique third party restaurant serving lunch and dinner, in-room delivery, a breakfast buffet available in the mornings, full catering and an upscale decor, we are a very unique Courtyard. We also feature bathrooms with tubs and for the corporate traveler a more modern stand up shower stall. We do appreciate your business and your feedback. We hope to see you soon in Montvale.

Thank you,
Paul Viapiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here twice for business in the past 60 days, both times good stays.

Rooms are very clean. The bathrooms could use some attention to detail. Toilet, tub and sink very clean, but the bathroom doors looked like they had never been cleaned, grimy and stained with spilled coffee. Otherwise the hotel would be Very Good instead of average.

Very large breakfast selection with fresh eggs a nice fresh fruit selection along with the usual carb selections.

Great restaurant on site.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventuraNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, General Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear AdventuraNY,
Thank you for staying with us. Very pleased you enjoyed our breakfast selection. We appreciate the feedback. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Paul Viapiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montvale
0.9 mi away
Park Ridge Marriott
Park Ridge Marriott
#1 of 1 in Park Ridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Woodcliff Lake
Hilton Woodcliff Lake
#1 of 1 in Woodcliff Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Pearl River
Hilton Pearl River
#1 of 1 in Pearl River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Saddle River
Residence Inn Saddle River
#1 of 1 in Saddle River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Nanuet
Hampton Inn Nanuet
#2 of 5 in Nanuet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Montvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Montvale

Property: Courtyard Montvale
Address: 100 Chestnut Ridge Rd, Montvale, NJ 07645-1803 (Formerly "Holiday Inn")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Montvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Montvale 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated hotel from the ground up. A very unique and contemporary courtyard with a signature restaurant, "Fire & Oak." We offer complimentary high speed Wi-fi in all guest rooms and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Montvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hotel Montvale
Montvale Courtyard
Montvale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing