We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place”
Review of Red Eye Cafe

Red Eye Cafe
Ranked #7 of 247 Restaurants in Montclair
Cuisines: American, Diner, Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Walking by at first you might not think much of it but once you look inside you will be pleasantly surprised. Not a large place but very cozy and the decor is warm especially if you like wood and subway tile.
We came looking for a brunch place and TripA gave this place a lot of reviews and a 4.
The greeting was warm and friendly. We got there early enough so we didn't have a wait.
The menu covered all the usual brunch things. I went for the eponymously named Corned beef Hash and Red Eye gravy. It was very good and not your typical has. Large chunks of meet rather than the usual shredded beef. The gravy was rich with a tiny bit of kick.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 103 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

We walked inside and realized the acoustics were such that it would be hard to talk. So we sat in the little alleyway outside which was fine until we needed the check. Then the waitress disappeared. Chicken salad and tuna salad sandwiches were good. Potato salad was with a vinaigrette no mayo. Potatoes were a bit underdone. Had a large cookie to go. Overall not bad. Glad we sat outside though.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2019

I needed to complete a dramatic creative prose for an event that was fast approaching, was hungry and looking for an inviting place to write. Red Eye was the perfect spot! Not only was the food deliciously prepared and the waiter engaging and fun, the vibe of the place was perfect for what I needed to finish my work. Oh yes, I shall return but with friends and family next time!!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank NatatiaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2019 via mobile

What a great find and delicious meal! You must try the Mexican breakfast item with egg and tortilla and black beans with pico. It was excellent

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank DarleneJohnson120760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2019

good vibes, was a little more upscale for Diners, had a good meal and great coffee, would go back, a little pricey as everything in Montclair is.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank VinLa0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Eye Cafe also viewed

 
Montclair, NJ
 

Been to Red Eye Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing