We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great venue for events

Husband’s high school reunion was held here and since I knew no one it was nice to be able to... read more

Reviewed April 15, 2018
Iintrepid
,
Boston, Massachusetts
via mobile
Surprised by my favorite artists

My favorite art work was actually on the first floor by all the highschoolers. They were fantastic... read more

Reviewed February 20, 2018
Anon8815
,
Trenton, New Jersey
Read all 119 reviews
  
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
50
46
17
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
46
17
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews permanent collection native american day trip all ages free parking matisse exhibits culture gem installation galleries leisure seniors curator nj neighborhood statue
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 117 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Much more than you would expect for most towns, but not Montclair. The art community and it's supporters is far reaching and very creative and accomplished.

Thank X3925QIrobertd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Start any trip to Montclair with a visit. It has an unusual collection, free parking and lots of restaurants and boutiques nearby.

1  Thank Marian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair_Art_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Montclair Art Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Marian, I am so happy to hear you had a great visit to MAM! I hope you will stop by this fall to see our new exhibitions opening on September 15.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

Husband’s high school reunion was held here and since I knew no one it was nice to be able to wander off and enjoy the collection. The Native American exhibit was impressive.

1  Thank Iintrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2018

The Indian section and paintings were interesting. However, I am so glad we had free admittance as our credit card perk. There was a bizarre exhibition of a local "talent" going on and we laughed at it all the way to dinner. Guess what I would have put in the recycling bin is now "art".

Thank LadyDiVineland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair_Art_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Montclair Art Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Hi LadyDiVineland, We're glad you enjoyed the permanent collection and special exhibitions on the Museum's second floor. The first floor of the Montclair Art Museum includes our community arcade galleries, featuring works created by students in our Yard School of Art classes and Education programs. Currently, we are exhibiting award-winning teen works that received Gold Key recognition in the 2018 Regional Scholastic Art Awards and went on to the national competition for further adjudication.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

Family liked it
It was a place that was nice to go to but not one you would say you have to go back to!
Sorry guys
Was nice and people were pleasant
It a good place to visit once but that’s about it

Thank richardbU2955WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair_Art_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Montclair Art Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Hi Richard, We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Montclair Art Museum and we hope you'll return again soon! There's always something new to do at MAM. In addition to featuring new special exhibitions at least twice a year, we offer a variety of programs, classes, and events all year long—from Family Days to artist lectures, teen workshops, tours, music, and more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2018

My favorite art work was actually on the first floor by all the highschoolers. They were fantastic and provoked more emotion than most of the professional ones upstairs. $12 is a bit steep for the size of the museum but I still enjoyed the visit. Bonus points for free parking.

Thank Anon8815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2018

The museum has collections of American and Native American art. When we went, there was an exhibit of Kay WalkingStick, a citizen of the Cherokee Nation and a celebrated Native American artist. There is free parking.

1  Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair_Art_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Montclair Art Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2018

Thank you Howard! We hope you'll be back soon. If you enjoyed the Kay WalkingStick exhibition, the artist herself will be at MAM for the 3rd Annual Gaelen Family Artist Lecture on April 26.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018

Great local museum- enjoyed the various art types in the museum. The staff is omnipresent and helpful. They know where the art is if you ask for a certain type, and about the art. The museum is quiet and has much to see. I enjoyed the art from Alaska having been there and knowing there are pieces close to home. Welcoming to students of all ages. In addition there are free days to visit. Many special occasion exhibits- check it out. If you live in NJ, PA, NY, this is a great local museum in the middle of a town with much to offer for a great day trip.

Thank susgames13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair_Art_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Montclair Art Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Many thanks for your kind words susgames13! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017

While one kid was taking a college exam, had a few hours to spend in Montclair with the other teen, and we stopped here without any expectation, and we were pleasently surprised.
The museum is about an hour and you will cover it all, but it had a few exhibits on different topics and in all we enjoyed it.
A few highlights the Matisse Inspired art, Philemona Williamson large colorful paintings, the marble statue of a women (look at those ripples in the fabric made of marble), and the classic paintings of an artist who lived in Montclair forgot the name. Oh and native American baskets and clay art. in all varied exhibits, a little taste of everything.
Definitely come by, it is well worth it.

Thank Asaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair_Art_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Montclair Art Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words Asaf! We're proud of our permanent collection of American and Native American art and wide variety of rotating special exhibitions. The Montclair-based artist you are referring to is George Inness and his gallery is a permanent feature here at MAM. We hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017

We saw two recent exhibits here and loved them both. For being a local museum, this place does an incredible job. No, it's not the Metropolitan Museum of Art or, the Reuben but, it's wonderful for being local - far beyond what it should be. Good place to take visitors from out of town or to see some nice things yourself.

Thank brainwavesurfdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair_Art_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Montclair Art Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you for your kind words on our brand new "Charles E. Burchfield: Weather Event" and "Philemona Williamson: Metaphorical Narratives" exhibitions. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and we hope you'll return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews