We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Fine - Service very professional”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro 18

Bistro 18
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro 18 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 202 Restaurants in Montclair
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bloomfield Ave.
New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Food Fine - Service very professional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We were treated to a dinner at Bistro 18 by friends living in Montclair. We were seated in a strange windowed front porch with our view being a closed hair salon. Despite the poor ambiance, the restaurant seemed very popular and throughout the dinner the waitstaff showed great professionalism and service. Bistro 18 suffers from the archaic blue laws of Montclair and therefore it's BYOB - which we failed to know ahead of time. The Maitre d' was very quick to offer to telephone a local wine shop which delivers for free - another nice touch dealing with a bad situation. The food while fine wasn't anything outstanding but overall it was a pleasant evening.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jugendstrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
179 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good Moden Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Went here recently for my wife's birthday. The menu, while limited had a lot of intriguing options for a modern take on Italian cuisine. We all enjoyed our meals and the service was good. It was a little bit on the pricey side but I would say it was worth it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank HollywoodDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyed lunch very much.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

I had a salad and half a sandwich, which came with delicious french fries.
Everything was tasty, fresh and well prepared. The wine we brought was
a good accompaniment. And not that expensive. I'll be back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
214 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Civilized Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is one of the two or three best Italian choices in Montclair, and we've been to almost all of them. Service is impeccable. The experienced staff seems genuinely happy to assist you and knows their job. We've been their a number of times and the food has always been fresh, well prepared and presented. While not cheap, the value is very good as the quality is very high. Unlike many other such places in the area, you are not face with overwhelming noise levels. You sit at a comfortable table and can actually carry on a pleasant conversation. I plan to go back within a week.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coeurdelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Three of us enjoyed a perfect Saturday lunch at Bistro 18, a small but comfortable restaurant on a scenic street in Montclair. In keeping with the laws in Montclair, we brought our own wine, which the excellent server opened, kept cool in an ice bucket on the table and served to us in their appropriate glassware. We ordered soup, salad and sandwiches and we were all delighted with our food. I especially enjoyed the Caribban salad, which included avocado, red onion, mango and a delightful lemon vinaigrette with very flavorful grilled chicken. The service was attentive, but not overly so. If I lived nearby, I'd come every week to this place!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 18 also viewed

 

Been to Bistro 18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing