We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent from beginning to end” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CulinAriane - CLOSED

CulinAriane
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: This tiny hidden neighborhood JEM is nestled in the middle of a residential area of Montclair, N.J. With its Modern American menu of insane flavors CulinAriane offers those who are fortunate enough to snag a reservation an evening of quality Food, and Service. I've only dined hear three times, but Soooo look forward to getting back in.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent from beginning to end”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We love Montclair and often My wife and i will drive the two hours from our home in PA. just to have dinner in this restaurant filled town. We have eaten twice at CulinAriane and it is not surprising that this restaurant tops the Montclair list. The food, service, and presentation are impeccable. We have been lucky enough both times to get reservations on short notice, however since the restaurant is only open four nights a week calling ahead would be a prudent. I can only echo what many of the other reviews have said. The breaded oysters are exceptional, The scallops are sublime and the Kobe beef carpaccio is a particular favorite.The duck the pork chop and other seafood entrees are equally outstanding.The homemade desserts are equally delicious. This is food that is loaded with flavors that POP on the palate and is memorable for days afterword. There is outside seating available on warm summer evenings which further enhances the experiance. By all means grab a good bottle of wine ( there is a bottle king not even a mile away ) and enjoy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveandRaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hot spot!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went to dinner on one of the hottest nights of the summer but it was nice and cool at Culinarianne's in Montclair. The river trout was fresh and delicious as promised and the seared scallops deserve to be a signature dish of the chef!The only drawback was the overly sweet lemon meringue martini dessert,which was beautiful to look at,but too sweet for our taste.Definetly will return for another wonderful dinner soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a diamond among Montclair gems”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Montclair is known for it's array of superior restaurants, but Culinariane goes to the top of the list. An unpretentious little restaurant in a residential area, everything about Culinariane is top drawer. The service is impeccable. The appetizer of watermelon, feta and tomatoes was perfect,the sirloin is the best Iever had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lived up to its reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

we went to Culinariane last saturday it was excellent. there were 6 of us and everyone thought it was one of the best meals they ever had. the service was wonderful. even though it is not very big the tables were nicely separated . we saw ariane at the end of the evening and her husband who is the maitre'd came over and spoke to us for awhile explaining how passionate she is about her cooking. it really showed. we had scallops, fish and pork chops and everything was fabulous. it is definitely a place we will go back to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 46531bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding, outstanding... outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Deserving of all the accolades lauded on it. It represents the best of Michelin quality, yet intimate, restaurants with familiar, friendly service presented with a sincerity that only a loving couple can provide. Consistently excellent food every time I've been there.

Trust me on this, folks. This place is a hidden gem in NJ. Experience it for yourself and I promise you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rpierant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CulinAriane also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing