We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Costanera Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 210 Restaurants in Montclair
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Park Street
Transit: NJ Transit Train Walnut Street Station on the Montclair-Boonton line. From station walk north on Walnut Street to N. Fullerton Ave. Turn left on N. Fullerton Ave. and walk to Bloomfield Ave. Make a right turn on Bloomfield Ave., and end on 511 Bloomfield Ave.
Description: At Costanera Restaurant, we take pride in offering Montclair the bold flavors of authentic Peruvian cuisine! More than just a nationwide trend here in the states, Peruvian food has a legacy as one of the world's greatest cuisines. At Costanera Restaurant, we bring you classics like Estofado de Pollo and Parihuela Costanera using only the finest ingredients available. Our chef and owner Juan Andres Placencia works closely with local farms and vendors to guarantee that everything from our tomatoes to our chicken is not only fresh, but of the highest quality. Bring a bottle of your favorite wine and unwind with family or friends while we prepare your meal to order. From our raw bar to tempting small plates to satisfying entrees, you're sure to be pleased with the flavors of Peru at Costanera Restaurant!
Newark, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Outstanding menu with many seafood options - but also excellent osso bucco and free- range chicken. The quinoa salad was exceptional. The waitstaff was very informative in helping us to understand some of the less familiar menu options. The cod fish appetizer was out of this world as was the tres leches cake. This is a BYOB restaurant so bring your own if you wish. They are lovely and very accommodating.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    35
    7
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little pricey and worth every penny!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Third time I enjoyed a delicious meal at Costanera. Montclair has many restaurants, but this one you shouldn't miss. I never regret the prices once the food arrives. They do such a good job, you should not pass up on the starters, try one of the cerviches, delicious. The Osso Bucco melts in your mouth, just perfect. Or try the Escabeche de Pescado with a side of Yucca.
If you're a foodie, it's a must, try for a reservation, they get packed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amylouq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New experience with peruvian cuisine”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I've been in NJ for tourism with family in mid-june and we've been there for my marriage anniversary. We started with a peruvian bruschetta (i'm italian, so i appreciate this concordance with roman tipical cuisine) and then coontinued with a mix of main items (duo andino vegetariano and costanera cobb) sides and dessert . Personnel was great, food well presented an served, delicious. An experience to repeat next time i'll go to NJ.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sorcio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Tastefull South American cuisine”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very tasty not like typical texmex. Many local ingredients. Meat and fish with aromas and spices. The mixto cevice is wonderful. The quinoa salad is great too. Try the combinado classic - which is desert with Peruvian flair. There are many appetizers reasonably priced and large enough to share for a good taste of Peru.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A Bloomfield Ave Winner!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The place is a lot smaller and more intimate than I imagined from viewing the website, but it was just perfect for dining. The decor was really nice and the volume was not overbearing.

They were out of a few things for the day but they told us as we were handed our menus - greatly appreciated!! We ordered a bunch of different things and I can't say that anything we had was bad or even questionable!

My favorites were the Chori-papa and Churrasco a lo pobre!

The only reason that I gave a 4 instead of a 5 was that the service was incredibly SLOW. We were in no rush and were enjoying conversation over our wine (its a BYOB) so it was no bother, but I could see it being a problem.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennifer_0290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costanera Restaurant also viewed

 
Montclair, NJ
Montclair, NJ
 

Been to Costanera Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing