We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away, terrible service, management does not care at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton
Reviewed December 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a week as we were travelling for business. One morning we found our car severe damaged while it was parked right next to the building entrance at the hotel property.
We started asking hotel management to help, come and view the damage of our BMW. No response. We even could not get hotel staff to get the police report left alone a discussion about the damages.
Receptionist was very rude and even made a comment about all non americans staying there...
We live in US for over 20 years and work professionally all those years. We came from Europe originally and have an accent, of course.

We found another hotel for the next visit to the area, so can you if you want to stay away from provincial ignorance and rudeness.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 263 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2009

I had a friend who was staying there on company accomodation so we stayed with him on our trip to NJ. Our main plan was to check out NY. The front desk wa very helpful when we asked them for directions and other help getting around New york. The breakfat they provided was great. The room also had a mini kitchen which was helpful as we often brought in food and ate at the hotel. The internet facilities provided were great and we could print multiple copies so that was helpful as well. Its very near to the Rutgers campus so can be a plus for people visiting friends there.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tangerinepunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

This property is located just off the mundane Route 1 in Central New Jersey near the prestigious Princeton University. It pretty is much between the cities of Philadelphia and New York.
The room was outstanding, very clean, with 2 nice flat screens TV’s and fully equipped kitchen.
The complimentary breakfast is outstanding, it has fresh, hot, well presented food, not the stale old doughnuts you would expect in free breakfast situations.
The pool is very nice and clean, beware the Jacuzzi has cold water which makes for a very invigorating experience on hot summer day.
The exercise room is far better than seen in most hotels; it was equipped with all new state of the art treadmills, bench and free weights. The only negative aspect was the locked thermostat which was set to a chilly 60F (16C).
The only drawbacks were the SportCourt (mini basketball/tennis court) which had missing floor pieces, limp netting and a basketball hoop set too high. Also the TV channel selection was restricted; the local stations were only New York stations, No Philadelphia or New Jersey stations.
I was there on a Saturday, so I was unable to avail myself of the BBQ’s and manager parties which are only on Monday to Thursday evenings.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
1  Thank sheagoodbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResInnPrincetonGM, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2009

I would like to personally thank you for the time you took to review our Residence Inn "Community" in Princeton - South Brunswick. With a new Management Company and Ownership in 2008, we have been very aggressive in making quick upgrades and improvements - especially important in these challenging times.

Through close follow-up of input from guests such as yourself, we have recently won three (yes - one, two, three) awards for most improved Guest Satisfaction since 2008. Our Hospitality Team considers our guests to be a part of our extended family and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We are a High School Rowing Program participating in the 2009 SRAA Rowing Championships, we had over 80 athletes and parents. The service was outstanding and the rooms and grounds were impeccable. Johanna and her staff were most accomodating to our request for breakfast times and use of their facility.
All of our parents and atheletes had nothing but high praise for the service and accomodations, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back again.
The new addition of the "firepit" out by the pool was a great spot for everyone to gather at night even roasted marshmellows.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c00kie813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResInnPrincetonGM, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review for our Residence Inn "Community" in Princeton - South Brunswick. The Egg Harbor Township Team certainly kept us busy (as any Team would) but you were all a pleasure to serve as a part of our "extended family" for the weekend. I know Johanna and the rest of our Team look forward to your return next year.

Your pre-planning of giving us a request for early breakfast times certainly helped us to help you. It was our pleasure as this is part of what Hospitality is about for us. It is most difficult to receive high marks from so many members of a large group such as yours but we are proud to have accomplished this feat.

Thanks again for your time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

I lived in the Residence Inn on my first trip to the States. The place is nice, comfortable, very clean and serves excellent breakfast. The facilities, gym, laundrette are good and its value for money for a long haul stay.

Staff are very polite, helpful and courteous...i loved every moment of my stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Prateek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResInnPrincetonGM, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review for our Residence Inn "Community" in Princeton / South Brunswick! As you note, our guests being able to live with us as a part of our "extended family" in a nice, comfortable, and very clean setting is what makes us successful at what we do. Our Hospitality Team takes pride in having the highest possible sense of urgency when it comes to taking care of the guests that live with us -- whether that be for a night, for a week, for a month, or even for a year.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide your input to our other guests - both current and future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

This location is showing its age a little, but it was very nice & reasonably priced. The breakfast was really good & the chicken at the manager's reception (Happy Hour) was addicting.

My only problem with this Residence Inn, having stayed at a bunch over the years was the manager's reception & the marketplace. Where was the beer & wine? We didn't want to go out for drinks, but had to.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kcoombs1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResInnPrincetonGM, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2009

First off, thank you for taking the time to provide your review of our Residence Inn "Community" in Princeton / South Brunswick. I know that those that care enough to provide a review -- especially a good one -- enjoyed their stay enough to care.

Second, now that I am able to reply to your input, I wanted to tell you how excited I am to be able to report that nearly any aspect of the hotel that you refer to as "showing its age a little" has been replaced and/or upgraded. From large LCD TV's (up to 3 in some suites), to all-new Stainless Appliances, to a new Pool, to the new Patio with Natural Gas Grill and Firepit, and the new Parking Lot, etc., the list goes on and on.

We certainly look forward to your return should you be in the area again. I am quite sure the additions and upgrades we have made will also add that 5th "star" to your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2008

Thanks to previous reviews of this property, I was prepared and as a result had a fabulous stay at this property.

We booked the 2 floor Penthouse Suite and loved all of the amenities, especially the fireplace. The suite was so spacious and roomy, it was like an apartment. Since it was just 2 of just, the loft style bedroom with its extremely comfortable bedding was very nice. We brought food with us and used the microwave and dishes provided in the full kitchen. Everything was clean and in order. We had a problem with the downstairs tv, someone was there instantly to fix the problem. Since I had already read about the safety light on the stairs, I came prepared with a dark towel to cover it and slept wonderfully as a result.

Thanks trip advisor!

Loved our night here and we are looking forward to spending another romantic night here in the future. :)

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jamy208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth Junction
1.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
875 reviews
3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Princeton - Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
7.4 mi away
Chauncey Conference Center
Chauncey Conference Center
#10 of 15 in Princeton
176 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton

Address: 4225 US Highway 1, Monmouth Junction, NJ 08852-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Monmouth Junction
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monmouth Junction
Price Range: $105 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton. We are the premier choice for all-suite hotel stays in Princeton, New Jersey just minutes from the Ivy League Princeton University. Located near our hotel are near area companies such as Dow Jones, IBM, Hewlett Packard, ETS, Novartis, BMS, Sarnoff, Loreal, Accenture and more. Spread out in one of our large suites, start your day right with our free hot breakfast buffet, stay productive with our business services that includes free high-speed Internet and rest easy with the Marriott bedding experience. If leisure brings you to the Princeton area, start your day shopping at Jackson Premium Outlets, catch a performance at McCarter Theater or a university event at Princeton's Forrestal Campus, then return to relax in our outdoor pool area. Travel to Princeton is made even better when you choose the all-suite Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton. When using GPS, use the following address: 16 Deerpark Drive, Monmouth Junction, NJ 08852. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Princeton-South Brunswick Hotel Monmouth Junction
Residence Inn Monmouth Junction
Monmouth Junction Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing