We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel..Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton
Somerville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel..Great staff”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great hotel, great staff worth every penny. Breakfast has freshr fruit and they have a complimentary dinner at night which was actually good. I would recommend to othe business travelers in the area. Housekeeping was everyday which was a surprise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_R21, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay Mary T. We are delighted that you could take advantage of our breakfast and Monday through Thursday light dinner. We try to use alot of local farms for our produce and working on other local options to support local Jersey farms. I will share your experience with our staff and we hope to be able to host you again on your next visit to the Princeton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    82
    37
    24
    23
See reviews for
116
22
10
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

the staff is great, which is why i'm giving this place 4 stars...everyone has a smile on their face and is more than happy to help out in any way they can. Rooms are clean and so are the grounds. the breakfast is simple yet hearty and the pool area has a nice firepit to sit around and relax

Room Tip: if you want quiet stay away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shlobb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_R21, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Shlobb13. We appreaciate you sharing your experience with us. My staff will be delighted to hear about your pleasant experience with us. It sound like you were able to take advantage of the lovely weather in the area recently and enjoy our outdoors patio area. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to host you again on your next stay in the Princeton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Spent four nights at the Residence-South Brunswick while attending a wedding. The property itself is beginning to show some age and wear. The dinning area is small and very difficult to move around in, especially for the breakfast. The location is a little out of the way, which can be a pleasure or a headache if you need to get around and don't have your own car. But the great feature of this property is it's staff. They go overboard to be helpful and everyone greets you with an award winning smile. It was amazing how pampered we felt in this type of hotel. Otherwise my take is this is an average hotel for the Princeton area but not what Marriott is capable of offering.

Room Tip: Bottom floor is more noisy. Loft rooms on second floor are best choice. A little out of the way so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marathonrunner262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_R21, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Marathonrunner262. We are thankful we were given the opportunity to have you as our guest while you visited the Princeton area for an exciting event, such as a wedding. I'm happy our staff was able to make your stay enjoy, aside from the feeling of property showing age or location, we apprecaite all your feedback. Your feedback will help us imporve our hotel overall. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to host you again on your next trip to the Princeton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

As a platinum Marriott member, I have stayed at a lot of Residence Inn hotels, and this is by far the worst I have seen. We stayed in the loft suite. It was a nice size for a family with small kids and was generally clean. The room overall is dated about 20 years. They have installed newer appliances and flat-screen tvs since then, but that's about it. To give you some ideas, there was a hole in the wall that was just patched up with a piece of plywood. Nails were popping out from the walls. The bottom floor was uneven and had dips below the carpeting. A large chunk of wood had been taken off the kitchen counter. The dishwasher was not securely installed, so when you pulled the racks out, the dishwasher started to fall forward. The beds were squeaky.

In addition, service was also not up to standard. I called several days in advance of our stay asking for 2 cribs to be put in our room, and when we got there...no cribs. They did deliver them within an hour. The bathtubs were very slippery for children, and when we asked for a no-slip shower mat, they told us just to put a towel down inside the shower.

None of these things ruined the trip or made the hotel horrible...but it wasn't great and certainly not a 4 or 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I happen to like Residence Inn's so you know this is going to be a good review. Large size studio room. It has the comforts of home. Included breakfast is adequate. Grounds are well kept. Ample parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellie2newjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Residence Inn Princeton-South Brunswick. The hotel rooms need an upgrade, but it was comfortable. More than anything, I appreciated the great service provided to me and my guests by the staff specifically Calvin and the young African lady (I'm sorry I didn't get her name.) I look forward to returning when I visit my family in August.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackPrincess7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice now for business and I have been completely satisfied with both stays. The hotel books rather quickly as there are usually a lot of events in the area but the staff has done everything they could to accommodate all guests. The front desk staff is beyond courteous; they really go out of their way to remember each of their returning guests. The breakfast buffet is not the best but it is included in the rate. The rooms are kept very clean though some of the closets are slightly outdated/looking a little worn. None of these "cons" would keep me from returning on my next business trip, though.

Room Tip: The loft suites are on the 2nd & 3rd floors so there's no one above you to make noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniC4590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_R21, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted that we could make your business travels more relaxing while on the road. I will definietly share your experience with my staff. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to host you again on your next trip to the Princeton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth Junction
1.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
827 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
11.1 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton

Property: Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton
Address: 4225 US Highway 1, Monmouth Junction, NJ 08852-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Monmouth Junction
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monmouth Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton. We are the premier choice for all-suite hotel stays in Princeton, New Jersey just minutes from the Ivy League Princeton University. Located near our hotel are near area companies such as Dow Jones, IBM, Hewlett Packard, ETS, Novartis, BMS, Sarnoff, Loreal, Accenture and more. Spread out in one of our large suites, start your day right with our free hot breakfast buffet, stay productive with our business services that includes free high-speed Internet and rest easy with the Marriott bedding experience. If leisure brings you to the Princeton area, start your day shopping at Jackson Premium Outlets, catch a performance at McCarter Theater or a university event at Princeton's Forrestal Campus, then return to relax in our outdoor pool area. Travel to Princeton is made even better when you choose the all-suite Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton. When using GPS, use the following address: 16 Deerpark Drive, Monmouth Junction, NJ 08852. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Princeton-South Brunswick Hotel Monmouth Junction
Residence Inn Monmouth Junction
Monmouth Junction Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing