We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will eat well”
Review of Chutney Manor

Chutney Manor
Price range: $15 - $200
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You will eat well”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Buffet style definitely has great variety of flavorful foods. Naans are requested to the waiters. The mango lassi is amazing!

This is a great place for family occasions or just a place to count on to eat well!

Helpful?
1 Thank Capri21Sunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Park, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place for regular weekends as well as special occasions”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have been coming to this restaurant for almost 10 years now. Over time, the management changed and I think it is doing much better now. We are treated like family, as the staff here has known my kids from when they were infants. Mr. Rana, the manager is a great host. They made some recent changes that made us love the restaurant even more.

First: They added the handi / dum Biryani, where rice and meat are cooked in a closed clay pot for 30-40 mins. This makes the meat very tender and juicy. This is a great addition to the menu.

Second: they added the buffet menu for dinner too, which makes it very convenient if you want to host large groups for dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaushik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
745 reviews
410 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Quality of the place has gone down in recent years”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I came here while I was in the area for a banquet this weekend and I must say that the quality of the place has gone down over the years. The food isn't as great and the place has not been kept very cleanly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RahulMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good options in buffet”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had been there on a friday, to our surprise buffet had good choices - right from starters, main course to dessert.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vedictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings On Hudson, NY
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Restaurant hidden in plain sight!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is main-line food from the Indian Sub-continent. Huge buffet, surprisingly large number of flavors, super fresh, and as much as you can eat for a very fair price. We were the only non-Indian patrons there when we arrived and everyone, the other patrons and the owners and the waiters all took time to explain what sauces go with which entrees, how to eat them and what is their favorites.
We were sorry it took so long for us to try it

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fsilverstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chutney Manor also viewed

 
Monmouth Junction, NJ
Monmouth Junction, NJ
 

Been to Chutney Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing