We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“USBC Masters Tournament 2013” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Monmouth Junction Princeton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Monmouth Junction Princeton
Mooresville, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“USBC Masters Tournament 2013”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband, his friend, and I stayed at this property during the USBC Master's tournament 2013. I had to book this room a few days before we came to the tournament because of how rude the Residence Inn Marriott was down the road from this property. We were given the USBC rate of $59.99 a night plus tax for a double room for the week.

This property is not how it is described on the Red Roof website. They talk about modern conveniences and upgrades, but we didn't experience that at all. We arrived early on the day of check in. My husband asked the gentleman that ran the night shift if any rooms were available and he said no rudely and that we won't be able to check in until 3pm. The website states that check in is at 1pm. I called the desk when a different person took over about 10 minutes later and explained the situation to her. She said they had rooms available. I came in and told her what the night person said. She said well he can't check anyone in. I don't care if he can check anyone in or not, he shouldn't have lied and been rude to my husband. We were willing to wait until 1pm if necessary, but to lie to a customer is unacceptable. She did promptly check us into a room after being on the road for 12 straight hours. We were put into a "pet room" because we had our dog with us. She is a 17lbs pug. She doesn't make messes or destroy anything, but yet we were put in a small and musty smelling double for the week. We had to constantly as for towels and toilet paper. When the room was cleaned, it was done well for the most part. The tv cable was horrible, it cut in and out all the time and the internet was of average use. They don't offer breakfast which is a negative. I understand that staying at a Red Roof is not a 4 or 5 star hotel, but if you list that there have been upgrades to the property then all customers should be able to experience those luxuries. If we come back next year for the USBC Masters again we won't be staying here. It never stated on the website that if you bring a pet you are designated to a pet room. We would have put our dog in a kennel for the week back home so we could have stayed in a better room if we had known that. We stayed at the Red Roof in Columbus, Indiana and that property is very good. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, and everything is well taken care of. I wish this property could have been the same, but clearly the Red Roof Corporation is not uniform for all it's properties. I do not recommend this property for anyone that has to stay for an expended period of time.

Room Tip: If you stay in room 120, this is a pet designated room. The bath tub drain plug does not stay up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCRANE0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    53
    47
    24
    48
See reviews for
49
29
45
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had about 40 guys staying at the Red Roof Inn doing storm repair. We also had guys staying at 5 other hotels. The Red Roof Inn was by far the best value. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean compared to the other hotels. Everything was "modernized". We work on the road quite a bit and the Red Roof Inn is at the top of our list as far as overall value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Smallest motel room I stayed in my whole life. For the size of the room, they are really over priced. If you travel with dogs, beware. They will force you to stay in gross, smelly rooms. The clients can run on the seedy side and the manager can be a major jerk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monmouth Junction hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stop at this motel usually three to four times per week. About one year ago, the hotel changed hands and boy how times have changed! I am now greeted by a friendly smile by the young lady that runs the front desk. Even though I usually have no reservations, even with the 'Sandy' issues, she always found me a room and always has that epic smile.

I recommend the place as a location if you need a clean bed and a place to sleep, especially after 16 hour days!

It may occasionally have, shall we say "unusual" type guests, but that's what makes a motel a motel, right?

Always clean, safe and pacing is always available, very reasonable, as well!

Most importantly, that warm greeting and that special smile!

Room Tip: Ask for the executive suite upgrade (King size bed, no smoking and work area, includes free coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caarlo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn because it is close to my office and the bad weather did not allow me to get home. I was on the 3rd floor in room 317 and it was fine. The room was the smallest hotel room I have ever been in, but it was clean and all I needed was a bed and a shower. The internet worked just fine and of course there was a TV as well. Nothing fancy, but a fine place to crash. The parking lot was full so I imagine others were in the same situation as myself. Considering the price (very cheap compared to hotels in the area) I would definitely go back if I get stuck at the office again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feasterville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

It smelled and had too much air fresher which still did not cover smell. My main complaint werer the cleaning people who opened the door on me while I was in bed(during my previous stay ). On top of that (with recent stay) they still knocked and knocked on the door before check-out ignoring my DO-NOT-DISTURB SIGN. Their English was bad too which could explain but does not condone their lack of respect for people's privacy!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 790Monica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I0198, General Manager at Days Inn Monmouth Junction Princeton, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Hi,
I am sorry to hear about your experience, but after checking through our records it indicated that you did not check out of the hotel till after checkout time. This is why the housekeepers entered the room because they needed to clean the room before they leave. We do allow a late check out but unfortunately not the time that you we were still in the room
Please understand that I am sorry they entered the room but that they were doing there job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel was far from the highway and there weren't many quick food options (we saw a burger king). The front desk staff seemed nice. The rooms, however, were below my expectations. The bathroom looked nice but had a strong smell of mold. You could see the black mold in the corners. The room also smelled of mildew and strong cleaner. If I as ever in the area again I would spend a few bucks more for a nicer place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipckr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth Junction
1.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick
2.7 mi away
Red Carpet Inn and Suites
Red Carpet Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Monmouth Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswick - Princeton
Sonesta ES Suites South Brunswic...
#1 of 6 in Monmouth Junction
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
#8 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
8.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn
Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn
#15 of 15 in Princeton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monmouth Junction Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monmouth Junction Princeton

Property: Days Inn Monmouth Junction Princeton
Address: 208 New Rd, Monmouth Junction, NJ 08852-2032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Monmouth Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Monmouth Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monmouth Junction Princeton 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfort and convenience at our Days Inn Monmouth Junction Princeton hotel. Located in the heart of central New Jersey right off Route 1, our Monmouth Junction hotel is near Princeton University, Princeton Corporate Park, Johnson & Johnson, Bristol-Myers Squibb and several corporate locations, as well as Quaker Bridge Mall, McCarter Theatre Center, New Jersey State Fairgrounds and the Raritan Center, making our hotel ideal for your next Princeton, NJ, business trip or vacation. Wake up each morning to a free Daybreak continental breakfast, surf the web or check your email using our free Wi-Fi, and take advantage of our ample free parking, including large-vehicle parking. Our in-room amenities include flat-screen TV and safe, and kids 15 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Monmouth Junction Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn North Princeton Hotel Monmouth Junction
Red Roof Inn Monmouth Junction
Monmouth Junction Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing