We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dinners but poor deli”
Review of Lox, Stock & Deli

Lox, Stock & Deli
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Milltown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Dayton, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good dinners but poor deli”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have myself been in the deli business since 1958 and enjoy a good corned beef or pastrami sandwich. This kosher deli has fairly good dinners but the sandwiches are a major disappointment. They tend to cut the ends of pastrami's and corned beefs for sandwiches and keep the center soft moist cuts for deli platters or catering which is a large part of their business. Their sliced turkey, tongue, roast beef are above average and worth ordering.iThe corned beef and pastrami do not make the grade but rather miss the mark by a mile.. It's a shame as this deli has great potential. I would rather drive another 10 minutes to JERRY & HARVEY'S deli on Rt. 9 in Marlbor0 for an excellent sandwich.(not Kosher but kosher style).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NJduffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milltown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love the corned beef!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great corned beef sandwich, one of the best in my area, IMO!I did not eat in the restaurant so I cannot comment on that

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toddwillms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Comfort Food”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I'm writing my second review for Lox Stock & Deli having just had a wisdom tooth pulled and two implants installed in my lower jaw.
The chicken soup, the matzoh balls, potato knish, and chicken pot pie is perfect for my diet for the next couple of meals.
Everything at Lox Stock & Deli is delicious.
Of course it is not necessary to have teeth pulled and implants installed to enjoy the food here but it is a great place to go after a dental visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Voted number 1”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I already wrote a review on lox stock and deli but since I like it so much I wanted everyone to know that it was just voted the number one kosher deli/ restaurant in New Jersey. The food is so amazing !!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank love5star18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Kosher Deli in Central New Jersey”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Excellent food, large portions, and reasonable prices. Great chicken soup with Matzoh Balls and overstuffed deli sandwiches. After the bowl of soup I could only finish half of my corned beef sandwich. I took the other half home for tomorrows lunch.
Also they have a salad bar with deserts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lox, Stock & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing