We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kosher Deli in Central New Jersey”
Review of Lox, Stock & Deli

Lox, Stock & Deli
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Milltown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Kosher Deli in Central New Jersey”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Excellent food, large portions, and reasonable prices. Great chicken soup with Matzoh Balls and overstuffed deli sandwiches. After the bowl of soup I could only finish half of my corned beef sandwich. I took the other half home for tomorrows lunch.
Also they have a salad bar with deserts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Garden, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Been eating here for years.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Best deli in Greensboro, my wife and I ate here before we were married 20+ years ago. The staff have watched our kids grow up. They will fix any sandwich you ask for, you may even make the menu. Best burgers too but be prepared to wait longer for a burger.
Awesome place never been disappointed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveC197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Deli In the Area”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

.....and I emphasize the "deli" part. It's difficult to locate a real "deli" here in Central NJ , but this is a REAL kosher deli .....the kind that peppered the landscape where I grew up in Brooklyn.

The food is simply excellent. We've never dined there ...choosing to do take-out all the time, so I can't really expand on the 'in-house' service. The counter person(s) are helpful and attentive, and my take-out orders are filled in record time. The corned beef, brisket and pastrami sandwiches are huge ....and many times the second half is my next days lunch. Knishes are very good ...particularly the spinach and the kasha ones. And ...the chicken soup is EXCELLENT. This is where I go to get soup for my wife when she's feeling under the weather. A big bowl with a matzoh ball seems to do wonders for her!!

There's a wide variety of salads ('health" salad is my favorite) ...and a good selection of "on the shelf" items to take out. It's a welcome oasis in a land of boring fast food and chain restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DriverDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I think the food was great. Very large portions and good service. We are here at 11am on a Sunday morning. Ut is too busy. I overheard a cute little girl at the next table saying to her parents "momm, daddy, this sandwich is bigger than my head". I think it may have been.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobTwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lov this deli”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Best place in the area for excellent hot pastrami or tongue sandwich, great slip pea soup and a nice salad bar. I also like their potatoes pancakes and a few other items in the menu. I have only been there for lunch many times...this is a deli don't forget. The food is fresh & tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewjerseyCaracol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lox, Stock & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing