We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raptor Trust Center

The Raptor Trust Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Raptor Trust center is known nationally for rehabilitating wild birds and the conservation of birds of prey. The center is located near the Great Swamp National Wildlife refuge. The Raptor Trust not only provides avian rehabilitation, but also offers educational programs about wildlife. The center is open 365 days a year to receive injured birds. Visitors are welcome to view hawks, eagles, falcons, and owls housed in aviaries on the property. The Phone# is 908-647-2353.
basking ridge, nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Everyone should visit this place if they can. The Raptor Trust has a national reputation as being expert bird rehabiitators. The only birds they have there are the ones that could not be returned to the wild. They do great work and it gives you a wonderful opportunity to get up close to to some raptors like screech owls (adorable), barn owls, eagles, red tailed hawks, vultures, peregrine falcons.... They also have a nice gift shop. GO!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank marcia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    12
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fanwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Wonderful place to bring the kids or for a second date! It's so wonderful to see these magnificent birds up close. What a special place to visit and bring my family.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hawaiianskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to come on a Sunday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I remembered this place fondly from a field trip I took as a kid more than 10 years ago. Randomly came into my head one Sunday whilemy family and I were trying to think of something we could do outdoors. We came here, and I'm so glad we did. It's not a fancy place, but its a great place. We were the only souls there, so it felt like a private little adventure for just us. There is a donation bin, where they suggest 2$ a person. How can you beat that? It's a cheap way to have some quality time. Very educational... Lots of birds to see up close. A great way to spend an hour or more. Very peaceful. CLEAN bathrooms too! You can tell the workers take pride in The Raptor Trust. we will be back with a bagged lunch on another Sunday soon.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Singx19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
585 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Outstanding Nature Walk and Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Nestled in the area of New Jersey's Great Swamp (which itself is a great place to explore) is a bird sanctuary that's open to the public (and it's FREE - though there are donation boxes at the entrances). I have taken so many people there and everyone has been pleasantly surprised. They care for birds that have been injured or sick and they provide huge cages for them that are very visible and close to the walk path that winds in and out of all the cages. You'll see red hawks, grey hawks, puffy snow owls, bald eagles, and a host of other types. Very entertaining and educational. There are birds there that I did not know were native to New Jersey. Great for all ages and they have a modest gift shop and museum on the premises. This is definitely a DO NOT MISS rating if you're in the area of the Great Swamp,

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyK300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great for Scouting trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very educational. they brought out live owls and gave a talk about the various birds of prey that they have. Woman was a bit intolerant to any kids that didn't have her full attention. Walk through the mini zoo was good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank bporourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raptor Trust Center also viewed

 
Morristown, Morris County
Morristown, Morris County
 

Been to The Raptor Trust Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing