We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food...very different”

Ship Inn Restaurant & Brewery
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Milford
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
washington, nj
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food...very different”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We tried this place one night when the oyster house was closed. I think I went in expecting more of a seafood place rather then an English place. Although we were originally disappointed since we were craving fish...we really enjoyed our meal. The drinks were good as well. I think we will have to go back again and give it another try to be fair. Place was busy and people were happy. Long time to get food though

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    59
    24
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Nice Brewery”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

They have 6 of their own brewed beers which were very smooth yet flavorful. They change their beers based on the season. It's an old Victorian style building built in the late 1800s that has been remodeled and it apparently the first brew pub in NJ to brew their own beer since the Prohibition.

They are situated just a block down the street from the Delaware River and sit directly next to a tributary of the Delaware which provides a relaxing view while your enjoy a beer and have some good German style food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FFMike462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lopatcong
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best hamburgers in NJ”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stopped by expecting no more than a run-in-the-mill hamburger. We were surprised to taste one of the best burgers ever! The waitress did cartwheels to accommodate us. All the food was fantastic. Enjoyed the little stream and birds through the glass as we enjoyed the unexpected great meal. We will be back. Dessert was beyond expectation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bett_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun novelty visit”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stopped here before going to dinner to grab some beers. They only have 4 or 5 beers on tap but they also serve cocktails. Their beer was pretty good. I had the Best Bitters while my fiance had the Killer Bee.

It was really cool to sit in a piece of history. This is a must see if you are in the area!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsFalcon926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Murray, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A trip back in time...”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went there for cocktails (The Beer) before dinner and fell in love with the old pub atmosphere and the history of the place. Tried a beer sampler and pleasantly surprised by the quality of the brews. Definitely will return and have a lunch or dinner when I'm back in the area !

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Inn Restaurant & Brewery also viewed

Upper Black Eddy, Bucks County
 

Been to Ship Inn Restaurant & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing