We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on the Delaware”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chestnut Hill on the Delaware
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milford
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We have stayed at Chestnut Hill many times and it just keeps getting better. Linda and Rob are the owners and they take wonderful care of their guests. The grounds are beautiful and it is so relaxing to sit on the porch of the Inn and look at the water. Rob took us out on the pontoon boat and we saw some great wild life.There is a great bike path walking distance to the B&B.
The breakfasts are delicious and the rooms are well decorated and exceptionally clean. We have stayed at many B&Bs and this one is at the top of the list. Linda and Rob really care and it shows when you make a visit to Chestnut Hill.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2010

Chestnut Hill on the Delaware is a B & B that includes two beautiful Civil War era homes located right on the Delaware River on the north edge of the town of MIlford. The buildings and grounds are beautiful. Decor looks like a picture from a magazine. There is a boat dock/pier on the river where you can relax or swim. We even caught smallmouth bass from the dock. You are only a block from the shops and eateries in MIlford. Peaceful and tranquil. Would highly recommend this inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdieputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Our room, Teddy's Place, situated high up on the third floor was like a little apartment with its own terrace . Sitting on the terrace was like being in a tree house. It was a great place to observe nature. A mommy hawk was supervising her baby's flying lesson , a heron would pass by on its way to the river, and woodpeckers would make music on the trees. Our hosts, Linda and Rob, are wonderful innkeepers. They are knowledgable about the area's history, helpful with suggestions, and giving of their time. Places like this are rare to find, don't miss this special inn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnn1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

My husband and I have been going to this b&b for more than 10 years, and it never ceases to delight us! Each time we return, there's an improvement on what we already believed was perfection. The Victorian home defies description, and love and care has been poured into every nook and cranny. The setting is truly majestic, and you feel a sense of peace and tranquility the moment you get out of your car. But the beauty of the home and the setting, pale in comparison to the innkeepers, they are indescribable! They pamper you and cater to your every need, doing everything possible to make your stay a memorable one. When you leave, you're well fed (breakfasts are gourmet!) relaxed, rejuvenated, and can't wait until you can plan your next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyshubach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

At a luncheon a while back we were served an excellent white table wine. Asked where he got this wine, the host told us the Alba Vineyards in New Jersey. Yes, New Jersey produces some excellent wines and two wineries are located in the Milford area on the Delaware across the river from Easton, PA. So a wine tasting led to a two-night stay at the beautiful Chestnut Hill Inn lovingly cared for by hosts Linda and Rob.

Now Victorian "charm" based on my experiences has been inns decorated with lots of lace, pinks everywhere, and a mind-numbing display of angels and cats and even more fanciful creatures. So it was refereshing to stay at the Chestnut Hill furnished in beautiful antiques, rich but restrained colors, and modern amenities including a jacuzzi in our room. Yes, there were a few teddy bears to contend with, but they were generally well behaved. It's hard to imagine a more charming and comfortable B&B.

Step outside and you can walk along the Delaware River. A drive along the river road leads to several small towns to explore. We ate in Frenchtown at the Race St. Cafe (excellent) and at the Oyster House in Milford (just OK).

In addition to visiting the wineries (Alba and Villa Milagro), you may want stop by the Rieglesville Inn for lunch by way of crossing the "Baby" Brooklyn Bridge built by the Roebling Company, the same company that built -- yes, you guessed it.

All in all, a stay at the Chestnut Hill Inn is a great way to experienceNew Jersey's "wine country."

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyb-tripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We stayed in the ensuite Summer Cottage. This was on the first floor of a seperate building that is connected by a walkway to the main B and B. It was oozing with charm. A wrap around porch with a welcoming set of chairs and tables to sit and watch the river. . We over looked the Delaware River. The cottage was fantastic. Big living room with windows everywhere. A seperate kitchen with an eating area with every convenience. We had freshly baked cookies and muffins in our kitchen plus OJ, coffee, tea ,milk, eggs and butter. Also included was a homemade loaf of raisin bread. The bedroom had french doors that overlooked the living room then out into the front yard which overlooked the river. There was a fireplace in the bedrom and duraflame logs were provided. The bathroom and every room for that matter was spotless. Although we love B and B's this gave us the welcomed hospitality of a B and B but we could relax in our own cottage for breakfast and eat in our PJ's as we read the paper. The hosts were fabulous. Had great recommendations for dinner. And they encouraged us to go into the B and B to get DVD's and more cookies! Milford is a little town but convenient for exploring the surrounding area. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at Chestnut Hill, as the previous reviewer says its like leaving relatives as Linda & Rob make you feel like part of the family. Everything about our stay was wonderful. We stayed in the Summer Morning room which is beautifully decorated, with a comfy bed that you just dont want to leave and a large ensuite bathroom with a big jacuzzi tub and shower. Breakfast every morning was delicious and very filling.
We will definately return.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alta-Monza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
10.9 mi away
The Lafayette Inn
The Lafayette Inn
#2 of 7 in Easton
158 reviews
15.4 mi away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 15 in Bethlehem
1,046 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Washington House Hotel
The Washington House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sellersville
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
257 reviews
16.2 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill on the Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill on the Delaware

Address: 63 Church St, Milford, NJ 08848-1230
Location: United States > New Jersey > Milford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milford
Price Range: $115 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful homes overlooking the Delaware River in the quaint town of Milford, NJ yet conveniently located near New Hope, PA & Lambertville, NJ. Bring your boat, fishing rod or just sit back and relax on the river terrace. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing