We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #9 of 51 Restaurants in Middletown
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

All Outbacks seem the same but this one is bright and cheerful outdoor dining in summer nice option . Service is good and bar area welcoming

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lizbet66-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    22
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A steak restaurant where you can bring the kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Popular restaurant close to home. We've found this to be a very kid friendly restaurant. My husband and one of our grandsons really like the ribeye. No bone no fat and very tender. Our younger grandson orders anything but steak from the kids menu. What has impressed me most was the attentive friendly service and patience with the kids.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lilaclily22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
380 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good Staff and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This Restaurant is a nice place but be warned it is very busy on the weekends, I went midweek so not so bad. The staff are very attentive and the usual outback finesse on the food nothing outstanding but good all the same. Also if you are staying at the Comfort Inn it's the convenience of it, no need to drive its a 30 second walk from the hotel lobby.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank edodowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistency is the key.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Since we really don't have a "real" steakhouse in our area[ in spite of what is advertised] we tend to stop in at Outback where we are assured a relatively good consistent piece of meat cooked to order. I am watching my cholesterol of late so I'm more or less forced to eat the filet versus a ribeye or other more marbled cuts I used to prefer.
The fact that their filet comes in various weights and I can always ask for and receive steamed veggies as a side I feel less guilty and yet satisfied.
By and large they do a great job and rarely disappoint.
The occasional martini also hits the spot[ don't tell my cardiologist OK?]

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Demarest N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Do not order take away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I normally love Outback however I do not like the curb side take away at all. We had to wait 45 minutes outside in addition to the 30 minutes after placing the call. They were training new people and not only did they get the order wrong but they forgot one of the dinners. When we got home, the food was cold and almost not edible plus they forgot the bowl of potato soup that was ordered. I will never order take out there again. Even on a good night the food is less than, cold and very small portions compared to dining in.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank julieshaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing