We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sono is several notch's above the competition.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sono Sushi Japanese Restaurant

Sono Sushi Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 51 Restaurants in Middletown
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Middletown, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sono is several notch's above the competition.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have been coming to Sono for more than 10 years for both eat in as well as take out.
My daughter,now 25,wanted Sono whenever she had a special occasion to celebrate.
They are efficient and knowledgeable and for those who are die hard sushi fans it is always an experience sitting at the sushi bar and just point ...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Demarest N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    22
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“best sushi ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

When we walk into Sono the owners greet us happily at the door and everyone who works there knows our name. Funny though, I don't remember ever telling them our names. Oh well it's cute when they call out our names and run to the front door to welcome us. Incredible that they remember anyone's name because this place is busy busy busy every day of the week. Tables are full every night of the week. I know this because i go to the gym next door.
The food at Sono is amazing and always fresh. Try the White Swan roll ....the best roll I've ever had, The Middletown roll, Incredible roll, M-16, Pheonix, and Juliette rolls are also unbelievably delicious too. You can't find a bad roll at here and I wouldn't say that about any other sushi place I've been to.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carribeanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better than the average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The food was better than the other local sushi restaurants in town. Nothing unique about the menu but a sufficient choices of rolls. Food was fresh and business was booming (i.e. things moving in the kitchen) Service was excellent even with the slight miscommunications in language

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
80 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

In town for business and wanted sushi so I went on faith after some online research. The sushi was not bad, but no means stellar. the presentation is part of the meal and it fell short. The white tuna was nice and great to each the spicy tuna, spicy salmon seemed confused and was more of scrap fish chopped into a paste than sushi grade. So much of Sushi is visual and I found the sushi bar lacking as it appeared more of fridge presentation than to displace the daily offerings. The area around the bar could be a bit cleaner as it appeared neglected. The service was excellent and the prices were a little high but manageable. Diner for one with green tea and tip was $28.00

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hsl44det1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food & friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have been going to Sono Sushi once a week for about 10 years now! The fish is always fresh, the sushi chefs definitely know what they are doing! The sushi is absolutely delicious! The staff there is so warm, it is a family run business and they are so friendly! I look forward to visiting Sono every week.. And I definitely recommend it if you are looking for quality sushi!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jlyn00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sono Sushi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sono Sushi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing