We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Famished family ...”

The Black Horse Tavern & Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Black Horse Tavern & Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Mendham
Price range: $15 - $100
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mountain Avenue
Description: Indulge in the area's finest cuisine in a unique and lovely setting. An elegant display and collection of antiques, country English design furniture mixed with the rustic beauty of early Americans create an atmosphere of warmth and beauty that befits the lifestyles of the rich and famous. Our eclectic menu is sure to please the most discriminating of tastes and is perfectly complimented by our extensive wine list. Also available are our newly redecorated banquet facilities for parties of 10 to 80 guests.
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Famished family ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stopped in late based upon recommendation while at a tennis tournament in Mendam. Atmosphere, service and food were excellent!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    80
    29
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Califon, New Jersey
1 review
“Great Fall Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I recently decided to give the Black Horse Tavern a visit after a long hiatus. What a pleasant surprise. The new Fall menu had many appealing choices. I was impressed – and I'm not one easily impressed. I had the rack of lamb with parsnip puree and leeks. Excellent. Melted in my mouth. On a subsequent visit, I had the duck breast with grits, kale and cranberry relish. It was just perfect. And the portion sizes were ample enough to allow me to bring home food for lunch the next day. I highly recommend the Tavern. I'll be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
210 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cozy, quaint, comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Always reliable and charming, the black horse delivers the goods. Nice set menu and interesting specials keep giving reasons to go back. Lively bar without being an over the top sports bar.

A good time is almost always assured

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“review of the menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Offers good food and service
Wine list is limited
Food cost is reasonable
Buffet every sunday which ends at 3PM



Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great burger,very good cocktails & beer choices. Busy atmosphere & good service. Try the specialtie burger that incorporates short rib meat and is 1/3 lb.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Horse Tavern & Pub also viewed

 
Mendham, Morris County
 

Been to The Black Horse Tavern & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing