We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's hard not to become a Regular!”
Review of Dante's

Dante's
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Mendham
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Randolph, New Jersey
1 review
“It's hard not to become a Regular!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We invite some friends to have dinner at Dante's on a Saturday night, service was excelent, the know our family, and I can tell they've been around for a long time, I love to go to a restaurant where the waiters know people's names and treat you as a friend. Food was Outstanding, my wife had the soft shell crabs special and y had the Pescatore pasta. the place was remodeled last year, so the atmosphere is better is not as noisy as it used to be; it looks so nice!
I would recomend this place if you want to enjoy a good italian meal with really friendly service, ask for Mario or Juan (Manager), dont forget to bring your own WIne!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    4
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

When we first moved to this area we ate here every weekend. Love the food - eat in or take out. Great prices, BYOB and the wait staff is always friendly.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank monkeyboobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookside, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not Italian!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It would be practically imposible to find any of this resturant's menu items in Italy. Certainly not prepared the same way. I doubt anyone in working/running Dante's has even flown over Italy. Sadly, even the takeout pizza has down hill.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pigeonsisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favorite Italian restaurant”
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We've been there many times and the food and service were excellent each time. I recommend the scallop provencale appetizer and the risotto. The staff is always pleasant and eager to attend to your every needs.

Helpful?
Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Change in management = change in quality”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We ordered take-out vegetable calzones with sausage and extra sauce. The sauce tasted sharp and out-of-a-can. The bread was perfect, but there were hardly any vegetables. We used to get lots of broccoli, spinach, eggplant...I could only find a little spinach. There used to be an even split between ricotta and mozzarella cheeses, now mostly mozzarella. Very heavy. We had indigestion for 2 days afterwards. What a disappointment.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante's also viewed

 
Bernardsville, NJ
 
Mendham, Morris County
Mendham, Morris County
 

Been to Dante's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing