We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An outstanding meal at a charming BYO”

Trio of Martinsville
Ranked #7 of 17 Restaurants in Martinsville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mt Horeb Rd.
Transit: Somerville, Bridgewater
Description: This is a great restaurant!
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
164 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“An outstanding meal at a charming BYO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

The fried calamari was outstanding, crisp, light, and not greasy or overcooked. We ordered several of the specials on the menu and every one was delicious. Each entree had its own side dishes, the sign of a good chef! The ambience and the service were both very good. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynnbrown68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Central Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A dining experience in a quaint setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I frequent this place every now and then for special occasions (ei. New Years Eve, Birthdays, Anniversary, etc.) and it never fails to satisfy our enjoyment in a great meal.
Frank, the owner, is a wonderful and gracious host who pays attention to details in making your meal a memorable one.
The food is excellent and there is always something deliciously curious on the menu as it changes with the seasons. My favorites include the lamb loin in balsamic glaze and the pork chops with roasted long hot peppers over escarole.
My wife loves the trout and also the Trios Chicken.
Dessert is always a treat and don't forget the cappacinno!
As for the ambiance, it has a quiet romantic feel. We are always comfortable there and a private conversational dinner is always to be had.
Give this place try and you will not regret it.
PS - Trios is a BYOB establishment so enjoy your favorite beverage!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSaavyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for a special evening out with friends - don't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Special note for former patrons/fans of La Scala in Somerville, NJ - Omar Aly is now the chef at Trio...and his delicious and creative cuisine is just as good, if not better than it ever was!
I chose a special appetizer to start: crispy duck sausage stuffed with goat cheese served over braised red cabbage with a delicate arugula creme. If it's on the specials menu when you go, I urge you to try it! My main was venison loin in a strawberry balsamic sauce served over a "risotto" of root vegetables. This turned out to be a labor of love (and display of superior knife skills) as the "risotto" was really a brunoise of parsnips and carrots and other vegetables. My companion indulged in an Omar specialty - gnocchi bolognese - once again savoring the pillowy light handcrafted gnocchi Omar is known for. Save room for dessert - most recently we shared the wonderful mocha brownie mousse and on a previous visit we shared the French apple tart served warm with cinnamon ice cream (also homemade). Don't forget that Trio is conveniently BYO!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
137 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What a great surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

We went to Trio Christmas Eve for a family meal and were very impressed! The antipasti, including the crispy fried brie, the balsamic calamari, the caprese and the mushrooms were all excellent. Salads were very good. The entrees, gnocchi, butternut squash ravioli, (ginormous) tilapia, and lamb shank, were all superb! Overall, a very fine meal. The BYOW is very nice, especially with no corkage fee! We will be back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SVC_911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great new chef with fresh new menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Trio has always been a good restaurant and it is BYOW which we really enjoy - if you haven't been there recently, you owe it to yourself to stop by again. They have a new chef onboard since April of 2011 and he has brought a wonderful new style to the old menu. He's all about using fresh local ingredients as much as possible and allowing the natural flavors to shine through plus a focus on healthy preparation. I had a dandelion salad with roasted radishes, sunflower seeds, shallots, fried goat cheese with a mustard vinaigrette - delicious combination of flavors. We both chose veal roulade as our main course which was a special that day. It came out in a beautiful presentation with sweet potato lyonnaise and kale. The roulade was stuffed with homemade mozzarella and garnished with fresh basil from their herb garden. The chef, Ray, came by and chatted with us, and recommended the chocolate walnut bread pudding with homemade butterscotch sauce for dessert. Wow! Not too sweet - just perfect. Our server, Claude, was very personable and knowledgeable and made our evening a pleasure.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trio of Martinsville also viewed

 

Been to Trio of Martinsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing