We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and friendly”

Island Shore Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 18 Restaurants in Marmora
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Marmora, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fresh and friendly”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Island Shore has excellent food and Chef Alan and his employees are always friendly and very accommodating. Vegetables are fresh and cooked just enough to be tender but crisp. Their steamed dumplings are fabulous as are their egg rolls and soups. One of Chef Alan's specialities is Shrimp of Marmora and one of my favorites. Noodles are covered in large steamed shrimp and a delectable rich cream sauce. Chicken with cashew nuts has a smooth and yummy brown sauce. Kung Pao chicken provides just the right amount of crispy vegetables and a spicey brown sauce. We have been eating here for 8 years and have always had a great meal! I highly recommend Island Shore, just 2 miles over the 34th St Bridge of Ocean City NJ.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just outside of Ocean City. We were pleasantly surprised at the diverse menu, great food and a BYOB to boot! More than just Chinese food. Various Asian inspired meals. Veggies cooked perfectly with just the right seasoning!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valleyforgejanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One Hung Low is a One Mung High!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Island Shore or as I like to call it "One Hung Low" has the best steamed pork dumplings, egg rolls, and spare ribs I have ever eaten. I went there twice this summer and both times it was out of the ordinary chinese food. By that I mean it's way better than your typical P.F. Changs', Mr. Fongs', Mr. Woo Hoos', Mr. Ding Dong Chop Chops', Mr. Shang Hais', China Houses', Lucky Dragons', Red Leafs', and Oriental Cuisines' combined. It's that good. The food gets to your table quick too. The best part is you can order the whole menu without emptying your wallet! The food is not only good, it's also reasonable. Afterwards you can stop and get some frozen yogurt at a local place called the Custard Castle just up the street from One Hung Low. I'll talk about that in my next review. The best chinese food you will ever eat is right here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blueball78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithsburg, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Cape May County!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

My family has been buying our Chinese food here for the last 15 years. The staff is so friendly! I love the pork and shrimp eggrolls. The sweet and sour sauce is the really good stuff, always has cherries and pineapples in it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlickBrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food at reasonable price!”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We ordered six meals delivered and each was very good. General Tso's chicken to shrine Lo-Mein were uniformly well prepared. Won Ton soup was very good. Not one poor selection. Six meals delivered for less than $60. And this in Ocean City!
Great value, great food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billPADutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Shore Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Marmora, Cape May County
Marmora, Cape May County
 
Ocean View, Cape May County
 
Marmora, Cape May County
 

Been to Island Shore Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing