We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best restaurant...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SOFIA Restaurant

SOFIA Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
SOFIA Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Margate City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Sofia of Margate offers a fabulous selection of eclectic and traditional Mediterranean, Greek, Continental. Celebrate life... embrace our hospitality… enjoy our diverse flavors…. experience cuisine that is good for your heart, body and soul – Experience Sofia Restaurant in Margate.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply the best restaurant...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The title says it all, there are very few restaurants left anywhere that are as good as Sofia's. The atmosphere is incredible, there is not a bad seat in the house, but the food is what keeps me going back. I have been there half a dozen times or so and never had a bad meal, or even tasted a bad dish. If your anywhere close to Margate, NJ - even if your in Atlantic City, NJ make the trip it's worth it! Lamb dishes have been the best I have ever had, hummus trio I get every time! Love this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelMan8384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    7
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
157 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Mediterranean Style Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We walked in and had a drink at the bar. It was big and not overly crowded. The restaurant was, but we were seated promptly according to our reservation. Food was great. I prefer their mezzes to their fried cheese appetizer. Fish was fresh and everyone in our group enjoyed their meal. Seems pretty authentic to Mediterranean cuisine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away from Sofia's in Margate”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had one of the worst dining experiences at Sofia's. Six of us had 8:30 reservations for Saturday night. Arrive a little after 8 for drink at bar. We are not seated until 9:15 for dinner, only after two of the women complained to owner. We order our meals pretty quick, since we are hungry at this point. Salads/appetizers served normal timeframe. Then, no dinner. 10:15 rolls around, no dinner. At 10:20 waiter tells us dinner is coming up the steps. At 10:35, we are told dinner is being plated. At 10:50, my wife and I have to leave to pick up child-still no food. To add insult to injury, the owner really doesn't care about what is going on. Shear arrogance.
I've been told by others that my experience, although more drastic, isn't all that unusual on a Saturday night in Margate. I think I will stick with Steve & Cookies and their great bar and blueberry pie, or Tomatoes or Johnnies or Ventura's. Never ever again for Sofia's. Horrible.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice suburb beachtown dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I went to Sofia with 3 of my friends as a great way to finalize our amazing weekend in Margate. This restaurant recently underwent a huge multimillion dollar renovation after Sandy storm hit the coast last year. The restaurant is absolutely beautiful, attentive servers made us feel very welcome. There is a nice bar (cozy). We shared some appetizers (spanakopita, hummus platter, seared scallops and grilled octopus). The scallops were sweet and fresh, buttery and really delicious. The spanakopita was a little dry for me but improved after some extra olive oil.
For entrees I had the special seafood plyka with seabass and prawns stew in a tomato sauce with grilled potatos. The quality of the sea bass was fresh and very tasty, i was a little dissapointed with the prawns since they tasted frozen and lacked flavor. My other friends tried the pasta and crab meat (they used angel hair, to my oppinion it is too thin for a dish like this! and an eggplant parmesan lasgna with a side of grilled feta cheese. It was a very pleasant experience overall, can certainly imporve in the quality of the preparation of more traditional honest greek fare.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gmoscolp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“At the bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

wonderful happy hour drinks and menu
friendly crowd
bar tenders top notch
good variety well prepared

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bu40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SOFIA Restaurant also viewed

 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to SOFIA Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing