We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location ”

Ventura's Greenhouse Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 47 Restaurants in Margate City
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

We come here frequently....but for different reasons. In the summer, we enjoy the view from the tiki bar. Food is fair. Pizza that is awesome 9 months of the year is sometimes not as great when it's crowded in the summer. Fall....its football on the deck with Locals, with a great view of Lucy the Elephant. Winter/Spring we enjoy the inside tavern and Friday happy hour. Food much better inside (and better menu), as it is in the upstairs restaurant. Would recommend and we will keep enjoying this place.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank sw783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 136 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

The first thing to be noted is that Ventura's appears to be broken up into 4 sub-restaurants, 2 outside (a tiki bar that said "cash only," and outdoor seating that serves barfood) and 2 indoor (the waitress attempted to explain the difference, but basically summed it up by saying the pricing was the main difference.)
My first complaint is that no one greets you, guides you in the right direction, or explains the 4 restaurant situation to you, so you're left to aimlessly wander around.

We opted for the indoor restaurant. We ended up having two servers throughout the meal, one at the beginning and one from the middle of the meal to the end, which was never explained to us. The first waitress was awful-- my husband ordered an IPA and I ordered a mixed drink. ( Initially, I ordered a glass of Prosecco, but the waitress talked me into this mixed drink.) She served both of us the wrong drinks. The second waitress was much more attentive and seemed to know what she was doing.

The food was very good, especially the sesame crusted salmon and halibut, but for lack of presentation, I feel it's all overpriced. This includes the $10 they will charge you for a caesar salad, even if you choose it to side with your meal. (Which is an unusual practice for a restaurant.)

Overall, not terrible, but we'll most likely not go back there and will probably choose somewhere else next time.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank PrincessIndigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2018

Ventura's has a really nice mix of a "bar scene", casual dining, an outdoor deck, and a separate "fine dining" restaurant as well. It has something for everyone with an extensive menu and a variety of great drink selections and local craft beers.And just being a few steps from the beach makes it great as well!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bradstose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

It was so nice to have dinner again at Ventura’s. Atmosphere, service and location all great. Really good food. Open all year round too!!!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank ssplaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

This is definitely a locals bar during the winter months. They feature daily drink and food specials. They have great pizza and are well known for their mussels in their homemade sauce. They also offer and extensive menu with a great variety. The wait staff and the bartenders are always friendly and it’s a nice place to hang out on a winter day. During the summer months the place is slamming and they have an upstairs bar that overlooks the water. Always something fun going on up there. Definitely give it a try, you won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank E3554DBjosephc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ventura's Greenhouse Restaurant also viewed

 
Margate City, NJ
 

Been to Ventura's Greenhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing