We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dairy free Ice Cream!”

Margate Dairy Bar & Burger
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Margate City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Since 1952, Margate Dairy Bar has been serving Margate City custards, frozen desserts, burgers, fries, and shakes. A stop at MDB is a family tradition! Enjoy our "back to the future" classics of fifties architecture, combined with great food, frozen desserts, legendary customer service, and today's modern technologies. We also offer water ices, ice cream, shakes, blasters, and frozen delights. In addition, we also offer 100%, dairy-free, gluten-free, and coconut milk ice cream!
Chatham
1 review
“Dairy free Ice Cream!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Loved the dairy before kids....love it even more now that I have a child with food allergies. The only ice cream spot I know at the shore that serves dairy free ice cream! Yes, the regular ice cream is divine. Nice large portion sizes and great variety of flavors. But the real joy is that my son who is allergic to dairy and eggs can walk up to the window and ponder over which ice cream he wants (that's right...there's more than one allergy friendly choice!). First time, I was skeptical. Worried about cross contamination. But the workers are great! Kept reassuring me they use separate scoopers etc. They let my son taste every flavor they had because (and this is the reason for 4 stars) the cost was crazy. My son has asked all winter when the Dairy Bar will reopen so he can get ice cream like everyone else. Love this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjb121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Owner at Margate Dairy Bar & Burger, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
I'm so glad to hear that everyone in the family is such a fan of our dairy-free ice cream! Thanks for taking a moment to spread the word -- we look forward to seeing you and yours often over the summer!

Warm regards,
Chris, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    14
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
margate nj
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best Colliders around”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

ask for a Collider the old folks who have been around here for years know what to order ice creams are very good fun place on Sat night with music

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jack s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Owner at Margate Dairy Bar & Burger, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Great recommendation, Jack! Thanks for taking a moment to share some love with us. We look forward to seeing you lots this summer.

All the best,
Chris, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County,Pa.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always A Summertime Favorite!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband & I have been going to the Margate Dairy Bar for over 25 years. We have found the ice cream to be always delicious, and at a fair price. The young people that work there are always pleasant and courteous. We have always been impressed with how well maintained it has been. It is painted with bright, cheerful summertime colors, has nicely arranged planters, and summertime music playing in he background. This season they have added more benches so you can enjoy eating outdoors. The Margate Dairy Bar is certainly a must-visit summertime experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank billypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Owner at Margate Dairy Bar & Burger, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Over 25 years? Thank you so much for your support over the years! It's been our absolute pleasure to serve up delicious ice cream to you and your husband, and we couldn't be happier to hear that you've been continually impressed. Thank you for this lovely review and we'll look forward to welcoming you back again next time!
Cheers,
Chris, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“stale product”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Disappointed in how stale the cookie portion was on my ice-cream pinwheel sandwich. Left my local discount card home & they wouldn't honor that either. wont be back here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank owietus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Owner at Margate Dairy Bar & Burger, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
When you come out to enjoy a sweet treat it should never be stale! Did you mention anything at the counter about that? Please know that we're always happy to make you something new if what you ordered isn't what you were expecting. So sorry to have let you down!

All the best,
Chris, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dairy Bar Worth a Visit”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Quick service, good ice cream, reasonable prices. We try to visit every time we're in town.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank vaso815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Owner at Margate Dairy Bar & Burger, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks for taking a moment to spread the word! We look forward to seeing you and yours again the next time you're in town.

Warm regards,
Chris, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margate Dairy Bar & Burger also viewed

 

Been to Margate Dairy Bar & Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing