We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Amex Accepted”

Johnny's Cafe & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Johnny's Cafe & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 44 Restaurants in Margate City
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, Italian, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Adams & Jefferson
Transit: NJ Transit Bus 505 Stops at the corner
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
136 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“No Amex Accepted”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

They present themselves as an upscale restaurant but then cheap out for a few percentage points (if that) and dont accept Amercian Express. I won't be back until that changes. Otherwise the meal was OK. The prices are not crazy and my family enjoyed their appetizers and steaks. There are better food choices in Margate (Tomatoes, Steve & Cookies) though you will pay for the better food and atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rickalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    42
    18
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cherry hill
Level Contributor
96 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Food great!!! but the Sinatra-like singer, excellent!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went to dinner with friends Sunday nite at Johnnys who offered a Restaurant week menu that was great for $33 pp, although the drink prices were high!!!!!!!! The place has been redone since Hurricane Sandy and is drop dead gorgeous!!!! As good as the food was, it doesnt compare to the music by Benny Marsella, who is there on Wednesday and Sunday, who does mostly Sinatra tunes and sounds like Frank in his prime. Great time, great food, great ambiance, great music.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Place To Go For Meatballs As Good As Grandma's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I recently dined here with some friends and colleagues while on a business trip to Atlantic City. This restaurant is only about four miles south of the city. For the occasional traveler to the area, there are some quality restaurants outside of those located in the casino hotels and for the most part, you will get far better value for your money. Based upon an initial visit, Johnny's Cafe & Bar is one of them. We all enjoyed the bowl of delicious sauteed sweet green peppers that was brought to the table along with some bread upon being seated. The star of the evening for me though was the Nonna's Meatballs in Marinara Sauce appetizer; two giant meat balls in a quality sauce, garnished with a hot pepper on the side. I can't think of any restaurant that I have been to over the years that had better meatballs than these. According to the menu, they are made with a mixture of beef, veal and pork. Next trip, I'll order them to eat alongside a plate of pasta. Eat the meatballs first, before munching on that spicy hot pepper. The marinara sauce would do grandma proud. Try the Tiramisu, which is made on premises, for dessert.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bulls76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nona's meatballs are the best. The owners are friendly. Music is great and the codktails are supurb. The servers and bartenders are great too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Twp, NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Even in the ''off'' season, the food was real good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Our office had it's annual Christmas Party here at Johnny's. Since I had not dined here, I was unsure what to expect. The food was great and everyone with me thoroughly enjoyed theirs too

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RamseyRuinedMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny's Cafe & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Johnny's Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing